Wiikey won't save settings

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hasteveha, Mar 16, 2007.

Mar 16, 2007

Wiikey won't save settings by hasteveha at 2:06 AM (1,003 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. hasteveha
    OP

    Newcomer hasteveha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    I can boot backups fine. I boot from the v1.1 disk from wiikey's site. But when it boots up it says its 1.0 . I change the dvd read speed and region, click save, reboot,nothing saves?
     
  2. hanarecca

    Newcomer hanarecca Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Are you trying to load up imports and they are not working?
     
  3. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Most people don't realize that the disc DOES NOT read that settings of the WiiKey. These are merely default settings. As long as you hit Save Settings and hear the drive spinning, you saved the settings. You should try to load a region backup and prove yourself wrong.
     
  4. hanarecca

    Newcomer hanarecca Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunatly for me my wiikey dosn't seem to save and load up NTSC-J games on my machine.
     
  5. Xandu

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    I'm having the same problem too :S.

    Does Wiikey Setup Disk actually boot on any other chip?
     
  6. wii_ownz

    Newcomer wii_ownz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    the setup disc is merely a gc bootable. anyone with a wii that's modded or gc will read and display the contents of the disk. however it will not write the settings for non wiikey users. I don't know and would not even attempt to try and write the settings with another chip, It might mess things up.
     
  7. Xandu

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well the Wii read the disk at 16x burning.

    How do I check if I have a Wiikey?
     
  8. xiaNaix

    Member xiaNaix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Country:
    United States
    Where did you folks order your chips from? The Wiikey team has confirmed that there are at least two different "clone" (ie. counterfeit) versions being sold by non-official resellers. One of them, I am told, does not work with the configuration disc.
     
  9. Xandu

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    I got my Wii pre-modded. I'm not sure what chip I got yet [​IMG].
     

Share This Page