Wiikey website down?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by pipesfranco, Apr 17, 2007.

Apr 17, 2007

Wiikey website down? by pipesfranco at 11:07 AM (4,558 Views / 0 Likes) 54 replies

  1. pipesfranco
    OP

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is this down temp for an update or have they gone down in a blaze of glory!!!
     


  2. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea, I just check the site as well...

    probably a update or company busted?
     
  3. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Their nameserver host is up and running. So it appears they dropped wiikey.cn from their name server. As to why? Feel free to speculate...
     
  4. mustnap

    Member mustnap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States
    more like "screw you guys.. we could not find a way to make the update not working on clones, so sayonara!"

    lol.. ah, now i wish i bought the clone one.
     
  5. TheSoldier

    Newcomer TheSoldier Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The Cloneboys are also gone. Very strange..
     
  6. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe the Nintendos lawyers were knocking on their door.
     
  7. sdoc96

    Member sdoc96 Creaky Old Stiff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    All they would have to do is move operations to Australia or Germany, or somewhere else chips are legal.
    EDIT: maybe this has something to do with the Canadian DMCA coming in....
    http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=07/04/16/1836254
     
  8. arukado

    Newcomer arukado Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
  9. pipesfranco
    OP

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats down for me too? weird
     
  10. TheSoldier

    Newcomer TheSoldier Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Works perfectly here, now that i've turned to com.cn.
     
  11. 1337Nemo

    Member 1337Nemo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    nice -.- my wiikey just came today and now i am stuck with one picture to get all done... i dont have the money to get a other modchip so ... well .. god damn -.-

    if someone can send me more pics like this (link!) please post them ..
     
  12. pipesfranco
    OP

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats all you will need to install it
     
  13. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well that's that then. they ran off with the money they made, and couldn't provide a firmware update. the cyclowiz owners must be laughing out loud right now after the bashing the cyclowiz team got for not being updating their chip - at least they got one, and one more than wiikey users
     
  14. morrison22

    Member morrison22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    well the wiikey is still a good chip right? i mean, does this mean no firmware upgrades? is it possible for someone else make firmware upgrades in the future? i just bought a wiikey yesterday and it should be here by the end of the week.. i need to make sure i still want to install it... only reason i bought it was cuz it was upgradeable and it seems to work well on most games...
     
  15. ishin

    Newcomer ishin Sarig

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe they're just updating the whole site ( new layout or something ) :| *is being optimistic*

    ah well we'll find out soon enough >_
     
  16. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's more of a change of ISP or something bigger than updating their own web site. Even if they closed up shop, the existing Wiikey plays almost everything. So that's 146+ games for $10-40. It would allow me to play a few of them instead of obsessing over completing my collection...
     
  17. mustnap

    Member mustnap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States
    but the audiofix is still a problem. sigh..
     
  18. ishin

    Newcomer ishin Sarig

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't think that they've closed up shop, because wouldn't there be news about that by now?

    And on top of that even though the wiikey base 1.2 disc might be an easy job for them to do, it's still not something a scammer ( I think anyway ) would do for 'it's customers' .
     
  19. qusai

    Member qusai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Canada
    Ahh this is bullshit, i should have gotten a cyclowiz :S
     
  20. betaboy

    Member betaboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    The BetaNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My prediction from 'Is this wiikey a clone or genuine?' the week before last

     

Share This Page