Wiikey v1, 3.2U, what do I need to play SMG2?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shark1987, May 24, 2010.

May 24, 2010
  1. shark1987
    OP

    Member shark1987 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Houston, TX/Austin, TX
    Country:
    United States
    I would like to avoid doing all the softmodding stuff that I can, but right now if I try to play it through the disc channel I just get a black screen. What IOS or System Update do I need to do to get this working? I've read lots of stuff and I know I could get it working by softmodding and using a bootloader, but I'd like to just use the disc channel. Which some people have said should already work, but I get a black screen, no error or anything.
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    What do you need? Nothing. For the last time, there's no protection on SMG2. Did you try reburning?
     
  3. WolfDV

    Newcomer WolfDV Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    It should run fine from the disc channel if you have IOS56 installed

    or use neogamma.. that will work too
     
  4. shark1987
    OP

    Member shark1987 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Houston, TX/Austin, TX
    Country:
    United States
    ok, so i need ios56 to play it? what would happen if I just went into the system menu and downloaded the newest update for the wii? As far as I've read it won't brick his wii, correct? And would that install the necessary IOS files?
     
  5. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes.
    Also, make sure your wii language is set to english. (If you're a PAL wii user)
     

Share This Page