***Wiikey Updates On Clones*** Confirmed Working

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mitchondria, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. mitchondria
    OP

    Newcomer mitchondria Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    Well i havent heard of anyone trying the firmware (1.9b) or the Setup Disc (1.3) on a clone yet. So as promised i tried them both out when i got home.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Heres my process:

    1. Downloaded 1.9b firmware, 1.9b recovery disk, 1.3 Config Disk...

    2. Extract and Burn (didnt do anything but extract ISO and burn with IMGBURN)

    3. Ran 1.9b Firmware update first

    4. After Firmware was finished I inserted WiiKey Setup Disc 1.3, Gamecube Logo came up and I ran it, Got DRE.... Then I figured out the problem...

    Im not a game importer so i didnt have Region Override on, so i downloaded GCOS WiiKey Setup Disc 1.3 (Links Below) and set region override on, along with turning the gc region on, and setting disc speed to 3x...

    Saved Settings and restarted... (Then my Wiimote stopped Working, I was like Wth, figure it was a fluke, so i took out one battery and put it back in and it worked fine)

    5. I then put in the Wiikey Setup Disc 1.3 (Not the GCOS one) just to see if it would work, sure enough it did. (No Coasters HOORAYY) and reset the settings i wanted. then Restarted.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    All of my Wii Originals, Wii Backups, Gamecube Originals, Gamecube Backups, Multi-Game GC Backups are Working....

    My Wii Specs:

    Wii, 3.0U, WiiKey Clone (From Ebay when they were available)

    Burned Iso's on Verbatim DVD-R, with IMGBURN 2.3.2.0 (I think thats the version, its the newest one) with a write speed of 4x

    Good Luck

    ***Update***

    Forgot Links to GCOS WiiKey Setup Disc 1.3

    USA Version = http://rapidshare.com/files/58414399/gcos_...ig_1.3.zip.html

    JAP Version = http://rapidshare.com/files/58432027/gcos_1.3_jap.zip.html

    PAL Version = http://rapidshare.com/files/58432677/gcos_1.3_pal.zip.html

    Use the disc for your wii, example: if your wii shows version 3.0U - Use the Usa Version, 3.0J = Japanese , 3.0E = European/Pal
     
  2. MixMastaBeef

    Newcomer MixMastaBeef Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    wow, thank you very much
    im gettin a wiikey clone now,
    any suggestions on a particular site?
     
  3. ozzyzak

    Member ozzyzak GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States
    This looks awesome and all but the rapidshare links are cut-off. Is there somewhere else I can get the GCOS disk?
     
  4. mitchondria
    OP

    Newcomer mitchondria Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    links to gcos disc are fixed...

    ***links fixed again my mistake*** [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  5. mitchondria
    OP

    Newcomer mitchondria Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    id say to buy an original and support wiikey development team... theyve done some great work....

    only reason i got a clone was because i thought it was an authentic at the time, but later found out after they were removed from ebay that it was a clone.... im not sure where to get them (there no longer sold on ebay) so im not sure where to get one....

    ***UPDATE***

    Just found a thread about clones and where to get them... info may be old but its a start

    http://www.fatwallet.com/t/18/716363/
     
  6. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    good ol' Kaidomain. Got my Wiikey from them and don't have any complaints.
     
  7. mitchondria
    OP

    Newcomer mitchondria Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    interested to see how many people this actually helped...
     
  8. RiotShooter

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    you can also get clones from divineo.cn took like 3 to 4 days for me to get mine when i ordered a clone . highly recommended. [​IMG]
     
  9. MixMastaBeef

    Newcomer MixMastaBeef Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    wait.....what about the wiikit? does the update work on the wiikit as well? its the same chip yea?
     
  10. mitchondria
    OP

    Newcomer mitchondria Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    i cant confirm that, but i do know it works with wiikey clones
     
  11. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    does your wiikey look like this?
    http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/8918/dscf0192od6.jpg

    then it will update fine, but the gold plated clone has the c2 mark a bit further away and you can read the atmel letters on the chip. i cant get that one to update, maybe wrong code on the chip?
     
  12. mitchondria
    OP

    Newcomer mitchondria Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    i dont remember exactly how it looked (i installed it back in april or may) but i think that is exactly what it looked like.

    also what isnt updating? the firmware (1.9b) or the setup disc (1.3)
     
  13. mitchondria
    OP

    Newcomer mitchondria Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Canada
    comeon guys post up if you have any questions or problems, and ill try to help get everything figured out, also if this helps anyone please let us know.
     
  14. TheNeck

    Member TheNeck GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Southern California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes the update works fine on the wiikit, just updated 2 wiikits i just got from divineo.cn today. Im so happy, the wiikit is the first wii modchip i have installed. Cant beat getting 2 wiikits + shipping for only $25 and it took less than a week to get here.
     

Share This Page