Wiikey Update Fail...HELP

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by albertlgh1, Nov 3, 2007.

Nov 3, 2007

Wiikey Update Fail...HELP by albertlgh1 at 12:55 AM (1,304 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. albertlgh1
    OP

    Newcomer albertlgh1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I try to update my wiikey using the 1.9g but it give me error when reach the "test flash"...
    Can anyone help on about this....

    Thanks a lot... [​IMG]
     
  2. d3ltr33

    Newcomer d3ltr33 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Providing the error message might aid your efforts.
     
  3. maddk

    Newcomer maddk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Brazil
    Guess he has the same problem that I'm having.
    I tried both updates 1.9g and 1.9b and they both game me a test flash failure
    told me to check my connections... ppl said maybe it's cuz my wiiky is a clone
    (which if is I'm not aware ¬¬) but some ppl said their clones updated just well. any sugestions?
     
  4. albertlgh1
    OP

    Newcomer albertlgh1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    YES. we are the same problem.
    can anyone help on this...???
    ERROR...Test flash failure. check connection
     
  5. maddk

    Newcomer maddk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Brazil
    Try ejecting the dvd when it tells you to press a or reset to start test/update.
     
  6. mustnap

    Member mustnap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States

    did that. even though i managed to update my Wiikey (it says it has been updated and homer voice was heard) i still could not run SMG. guess now the difference between clones and the original shows..
     
  7. maddk

    Newcomer maddk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, the clones (like wiikit) have been confirmed working to... so I'm almost sure thats not the reason...
     
  8. Lotem

    Newcomer Lotem Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Israel
    I think the best thing to do is to call the man who install your wiikey(if it's not you) and let him do the job.
    Im gonna do this tomorrow.
     
  9. albertlgh1
    OP

    Newcomer albertlgh1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    eject method do not work. It is just simply bypass the test and upgrade and the system will tell you completed.
    but actually it is still the old firmware.
     
  10. kgb420

    Newcomer kgb420 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    how many post do you guys need to make??? there is already 3-4 threads regarding the chip not flashing...
     
  11. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    some clones can be updated, and some can be not!

    most people dont even know for sure if they have a wiikey chip in their wii console.
    best bet is to open it up if it wont update and swap the chip for a real one.

    or reprogram the clone [​IMG]
     
  12. robi

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France
    not all clones are equal, I'm sure many of them are pretty much perfect copies but some manufactures probably cut corners to lower costs. How this affects updating I cannot say.

    It's a shame that many people have paid others to install a wiikey and then they just install something much cheaper...while charging wiikey prices.

    That's why I do my own modding [​IMG]

    Also let it be known that it was specified that this update IS a beta. Use at your own risk sort of thing. I wouldn't be surprised if that affected some people.
     
  13. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly. Some wiikey clones could very well just be other chip firmwares that use the same pins.
     
  14. Clushje

    Newcomer Clushje Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wrong fuse values.
     
  15. klaus201

    Newcomer klaus201 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Angola
    test failed error fixed burn the firmware 1.9g in a dvdr. in a dvdrw show the test failed. in my case

    wiikey original wii 3.1

    smg works works
    espero que le sirva a alguien
     

Share This Page