hansoffate

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi,

I have read alot of threads and I still have these questions. I am sorry am a noob. Now that I have that out of the way, here are my questions. I have read there are some Wiikey problems with audio, but they all don't seem to effect playing wii games or games I really care about.

Also, I am a total Soldar noob. I have one, but I have only used it to melt plastic. All my tips are black. I probably need to get new tips. Which one do I use? Which method of soldering should I use for soldering the WiiKey? Can I take the wiikey off with the method?

The quick soldar method seems to be easy, but I don't understand. It seems as though you put soldar (any kind) and fill up the wells. I can't tell from the pictures.

Sorry for the noob questions,
Thanks for the help,
Hans

bliss-chris

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Gambia, The
You're also a noob in grammar, right? It's spelled "soldarrrr" with 4 r.
laugh.gif

Let's see what we can do here. You can fix your soldering tips with tip tinner, you might not need new tips at all. Eventually it's good to have that stuff anyways, because it nicely fixes up dull tips.

Quick soldering: First the points on the DVD PCB should be pretinned. Then the chip is placed directly onto the PCB and then the wells on the chip are filled with tin to get contact with the solder points on the PCB underneath enclosed by the wells. But that's all bullshit, because once soldered it's hard to remove the chip again. You may want to connect it via short cables.

aross6

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States