wiikey installed

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lonfar, Jun 5, 2007.

Jun 5, 2007

wiikey installed by lonfar at 4:04 PM (1,106 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. lonfar
    OP

    Member lonfar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Im having some trouble with the wii
    i've installed the wiikey but when i put back the case it just goes standby mode and turn off when you press the power button, i tried without the casing and it worked fine.

    Does anyone know what problem?
     
  2. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe the casing is applying pressure to an electrical point, which is causing a short. Did you cover the install with tape to prevent any shorts?

    How did you install? - Quicksolder/wire/external?

    Im no pro, but It sounds to me like an electrical short. I think we'll need more info on the install to propertly diagnose your problem. [​IMG]

    EDIT: After re-reading, it could be just the case isnt on properly. Take the casing back off, make sure the wiikey/solder points are taped then make sure it all clips back together properly and snug. Dont force any bits together.
     
  3. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know the problem, something is contacting something you get wat i mean like 2 wires are touching each other
    Cuz when i removed my wiikey i
    I removed that part and it was over

    Im dutch so its hard to explain
     
  4. lonfar
    OP

    Member lonfar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This is my first try, looking by other people i had go for wired.

    the chip i have placed is here
    [​IMG]

    i have used red tape to cover the chip like this

    [​IMG]
     
  5. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use the same kind of tape to cover the points where you soldered the wires on the Wii's DVD board. As well as where you put it on the wiikey. Maybe try covering the wiikey too, not just half of it.

    [​IMG]

    Bit of a dark pic, I installed my wiikey externally with wires but this shows what I taped.
     
  6. lonfar
    OP

    Member lonfar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, i try try now to see if that works
     
  7. lonfar
    OP

    Member lonfar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Did what you ask =/ didn't seem to work
     
  8. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm.... like I said, im no pro so im not sure. Does the case fit back on properly? Are you sure you've not broken anything while taking it apart/putting it back together??

    Any Pro-modders here wanna have a go? [​IMG] Im stumped. [​IMG]
     
  9. lonfar
    OP

    Member lonfar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it's the top cover making it stop playing, when i remove it
    it didn't cause any trouble. Might be the tape, will try other tape
     
  10. lonfar
    OP

    Member lonfar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank, manage to work now, it was the wiring touching each other
     
  11. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page