Wiikey DRE's!?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by xeorix, Mar 6, 2007.

Mar 6, 2007

Wiikey DRE's!? by xeorix at 3:14 PM (4,753 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. xeorix
    OP

    Newcomer xeorix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sweden
    Installed my wiikey last night in my PAL-wii and tried it with the following backups:

    Red Steel (PAL)
    Excite truck (PAL)
    Kororinpa (PAL)

    And heres the results:
    RS: No problems this far, have played 4 about two hours. Works like a charm [​IMG]
    ET: DRE ofter loading some stages, or example: Fiji in versus mode, tutorial stage 2, stage 2 in excite race. But some stages works fine :/
    K: Dont even get past the startscreen before I get DRE [​IMG]

    What are your experiences? Im starting to think that I installed my modchip incorrectly [​IMG]
     


  2. Ichiban

    Member Ichiban GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt if you've installed it incorretly....Maybe its the media?
     
  3. Reepa

    Newcomer Reepa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    May be a shot in the dark here but try fully powering down the wii after the first load of each backup, i had the same problem with excite truck and my wiinja v1, was barely playable.

    But not seen a single one since I've unplugged/replugged the wii [​IMG]
     
  4. xeorix
    OP

    Newcomer xeorix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes, I've thought of that too.
    I use cheapass dvd's, but I still find it strange thet Red Steel work if that is the issue :S
     
  5. Ichiban

    Member Ichiban GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you use the set up disk? Set the speed to 6x on the wiikey setup....Maybe, goodluck!
     
  6. nloding

    Member nloding GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Just because a game works with on brand doesn't mean it will work for all brands. And just because one game works on that brand doesn't mean all games will. Try different media, possibly a different burner. I bet that's it. People are too quick to blame something else.
     
  7. xeorix
    OP

    Newcomer xeorix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, tried that. It is 6x from the start so that isn't it.
    I will try to burn with different media in a couple of days.
     
  8. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States

    stop being a cheap ass and go spend $.30 a disk instead of $.10
     
  9. xeorix
    OP

    Newcomer xeorix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sweden
    I use .4$ Where the f*ck can you find .1$ DVD's!? 0_0
     
  10. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States

    i get verbatum(sp) 16x for $.30 each
     
  11. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    U go Presto!
     
  12. xeorix
    OP

    Newcomer xeorix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sweden
    You mean verbatim right?
     
  13. Presto

    Member Presto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Ft Worth, texas
    Country:
    United States

    ya i suck at spelling
     
  14. kai445

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    I pay 42 cents per disc :-(

    Taiyo Yuden DVD+R White Hub Printable. Very nice media, I hope to get no DRE's :-).
     
  15. LaGzoR

    Newcomer LaGzoR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    France
    Me I paid 44 cents (0.38€) per disc (TDK 1-16x) from Ebay !!
     
  16. LaGzoR

    Newcomer LaGzoR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    France
    Me I paid 44 cents (0.38€) per disc (TDK 1-16x) from Ebay !!
     
  17. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    set the burning speed at 2.1x....my xbox would never read cheap dvds at higher
     
  18. xeorix
    OP

    Newcomer xeorix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah it was the discs.
    Tried to burn Excite T. with a TDK (+RW) and now it works without any problem.
     
  19. Ichiban

    Member Ichiban GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good, glad it's sorted [​IMG]
     
  20. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    No one should complain about DREs if they are using low-quality media ...
    Because this is always the reason.
     

Share This Page