WiiKey config disc needed?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hellodummies, Aug 10, 2007.

Aug 10, 2007
  1. hellodummies
    OP

    Newcomer hellodummies Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I have USA wii. I have updated to wii to 3.0E. so i can not use the config disc. Is the config disc required?

    Thanks
     
  2. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    It's not required. If you want to change region free settings or disc speed settings, it is though.
     
  3. kingmathyou

    Newcomer kingmathyou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    What exactly is the purpose of changing the disc speed anyways? I don't see a difference between 3x and 6x.
     
  4. handiklap

    Newcomer handiklap Newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any confirmation on the possibility of loading the config disc using GCOS?
     
  5. hellodummies
    OP

    Newcomer hellodummies Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    So, I will be fine without it, and be able to play backups? Cuz i have Wii firmware 3.0E i think
     
  6. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you can play backups without the config disc. You can also use the config disc with the help of GCOS.
     
  7. pnut

    Member pnut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    United States
    Good Question posted but yet answered.....

    Why was there an option to run the disc at 3X?
     
  8. wiimii

    Member wiimii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    U.k
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    axactly ., i burnt my games on 3x so i set it to that in the config , but i didnt notice it read (load ) any faster [​IMG]
     
  9. hellodummies
    OP

    Newcomer hellodummies Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    so where can i get the GCOS????
     
  10. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Indeed, i'm getting a Wiikey tomorrow, and i have Zero knowledge about these things as well.

    After i have my Wiikey, what do i need? like Software and stuff. Can anyone link me to a newbies guide or such?

    Thanks!
     
  11. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
  12. fme008

    Newcomer fme008 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    do i have to burn the config onto a dvd r or can i burn it onto a dvd rw?

    with more updates coming (if are coming) will be wasting alot of dvds.
     
  13. hellodummies
    OP

    Newcomer hellodummies Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Update: nothing works. installed wiikey. GCOS disc dont work too NOTHING DETECTS
    it says unable to read disc
    only bought games work
     
  14. Ajmdc

    Newcomer Ajmdc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia

    Have you made sure you installed it correctly?? I did it the first time.. ONE of the wires came loose and didn't work.. pulled it apart.. checked it.. and BINGO!!
     
  15. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That's not what 3x on the config disc means. It has nothing to do with what speed you burnt your disc at. You can set your Wii's dvd drive to either 3x or the default 6x. At 6x games loader faster but the dvd drive makes more noise. At 3x the games load slower but the drive makes less noise. What speed you burnt your discs at have no effect what so ever on the read times.

    In my opinion there really is no need to change the speed to anything but 6x.
     

Share This Page