WiiKey Cant Read Burnt Media

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dylaan, Aug 26, 2007.

Aug 26, 2007

WiiKey Cant Read Burnt Media by Dylaan at 6:59 AM (956 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Okay, I spent the last hour or two trying to install my Genuine Wiikey, via wired install... I had a few problems with not using enough solder, and wires coming undone, but when I put it back together it was all good.

    Anyway, it plays commercial games I've bought fine, but so far I've tried the WiiKey disc and the GCOS from Wiinja website, and neither work... It just says cannot recognize disc, I know WiiKey disc doesn't work, but what's going on! :'( Please help!
     
  2. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    *bump* Please help guys!
     
  3. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    You should always post pictures of your chip install when asking what's wrong. We can't tell if you have done a bad solder job, or if your WiiKey is a fake, we pretty much can't tell anything.

    If you can't take a picture, use a multimeter to make sure your points aren't bridged (connecting) and to make sure you're getting the correct voltages to the respective pads on your chip.
     
  4. pitoui

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe your using crappy media. I find that my TDKs and my Verbatims work very well. Try that.
     
  5. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  6. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what firmware is your wii?
     
  7. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Okay, I fixed the loose wire, put it back together... and put in the WiiKey disc... (unofficial to run with 3.0E) It came up! I was about to start partying... I clicked change settings, decided not to touch anything and hit save, then reset console...

    I tried with GCOS disc, and it wouldn't read!I Tried WiiKey disc again, wouldn't read! [​IMG] What's going on? [​IMG]

    EDIT: Another damn wire loose! What is wrong with me... [​IMG] The joins on the mainboard are all perfect, its been the chip both times... *touch wood*

    ANOTHER EDIT: Latest Firmware I think... 3.0E with browser fix.
     
  8. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is the wiikey a clone chip?
     
  9. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Argh, I just tried it again, loaded GCOS, then reset, wouldnt load anything...

    It's Genuine with Hologram, bought at www.ausxmods.com
     
  10. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the soldering job on the chip doesn't look too good. If it was working it doesn't seem like it would be a problem with the Wiikey.
     
  11. Takrin

    Member Takrin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    tried reinstalling? could be a bad joint somewhere. also did your media work before? it could be that too like that person said


    *Edit*
    i did run into a dead DOA wiikey (fake) but nothing loaded not even config disk. but if your setup disk works maybe its something else

    check your solder since you had 2 problems before it could be that
     
  12. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok I found a wire that MIGHT have been shorting, is it possible this was why it would only work once? Fixed the join, it shouldn't short anymore, hope it works!
     
  13. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It wasn't the join, I've figured out it'll work if I pull the power lead out each time I want to use it... Problem is I can't use GCOS or any swap methods this way... I think someone recently had the same problem. Thoughts?
     
  14. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    My thoughts are: you should really tape up your WiiKey's face before setting it down, you're probably shorting something out.
     

Share This Page