wiikey 1.9s =(

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by aichemist, May 10, 2008.

  1. aichemist
    OP

    aichemist Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 2, 2007
    Canada
    Hello

    I haven't update the firmware before, and I thought I'll just put in the 1.9s update disc since i have 3.1J already. I wanted to play mario kart. Anyways, when I put the disc in, it loads, and it says "press A to test or press reset or something", than the controllers shuts off. Anyone know if I burned it wrong or am i doing something wrong ?

    I burned it with nero and alcohol on 4x on hp dvd-r. I am not sure what I am doing wrong. Someone enlighten me

    thx
     
  2. aichemist
    OP

    aichemist Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 2, 2007
    Canada
    damn i should have posted on the hardware section
     
  3. felix123

    felix123 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    261
    0
    Dec 3, 2006
    New Zealand
    It says press reset. There's a reset button on your Wii. Go press it.
    And if you have RW discs you should use that.
     
  4. cardyology

    cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    566
    0
    May 2, 2007
    Chorley Uk
    Try burning it with imgburn at 4x

    thats what I did n it worked great.
     
  5. Sir VG

    Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    847
    2
    Jun 26, 2004
    United States
    The A button refers to one on a Gamecube controller, not the WiiMote. WiiMote can't be used with WiiKey updates.
     
  6. aichemist
    OP

    aichemist Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 2, 2007
    Canada
    Just an update,

    I just had to press the reset to do the update, and it worked.
    I have a jap wii. Anyways, than I put in the config disc, and it loaded on the screen right.
    Everytime when I ran the disc, my wii control shuts down ? Do i need a gamecube control to do the setting ?
    cause my wii controls doesn't have the blue icon anymore, and I don't seem to be able to connect it back ? I try to manually connect them =(

    Am I doing something wrong ?
     
  7. lagman

    lagman I wish I was green.

    Former Staff
    4,071
    2
    Nov 5, 2003
    Mexico
    Me, To You
    The update disc runs on Gamecube mode, that's why the wiimote turns itself off.
    You just need the reset button -if you dont have a GC controller-, after the update is done just reset the wii.
     
  8. aichemist
    OP

    aichemist Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 2, 2007
    Canada
    yep, i i'm gonna get a gamecube control tonight from a friend. Anyways, I was reading the wiki region patcher comptability list, mario kart needs wbb and wiiscrubbed ? Where do I go to download Wiiscrubbed ? Thank you everyon. This is like a newbie section =(
     
  9. manias

    manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,258
    0
    Aug 7, 2007
    Netherlands
    no, that is jus tthe setup they used to test it. scrub means you remove excess info of an iso so it can be downloaded quicker. it is NEVER necessary
     
  10. aichemist
    OP

    aichemist Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 2, 2007
    Canada
    Oh..

    So you telling me that on the compatibility list for NTSC-J, under mario kart, it says 3.1J + 1.9S WBB and wiiscrubbed, so I would just need to use 3.1J and WBB and I will probalby be able to play mario kart USA. Is this the understanding =P ?