Wiigion Free + Wiikey

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Svengali, Apr 16, 2007.

Apr 16, 2007

Wiigion Free + Wiikey by Svengali at 5:01 AM (5,242 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Svengali
    OP

    Newcomer Svengali Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    With a NTSC-U Wii if I want to play a PAL backup do I need to use Wiigion Free to patch it or do I just use the mode on the Wiikey?

    Also, if you do patch it but don't enable the region unlock stuff on the Wiikey will it still work?
     
  2. davewii

    Newcomer davewii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just use the inbuilt region free on setup disk as they both have the same compatability
     
  3. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried 6 or so PAL games and one Japan game, and so far none have worked with my Wiikey. I used DVD+RWs, but they all return the "unable to read disc" message. I don't know if it is just bad luck, or I'm cursed maybe...
     
  4. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't use DVD+RW's use DVD-R, problem solved.
     
  5. Critical_Impact

    Member Critical_Impact GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    QLD, AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    I dont think DVD+RW's work too well with the Wii/Wiikey. I have tried them and it didnt work then I used a DVD-R and it worked fine.
     
  6. Svengali
    OP

    Newcomer Svengali Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    The Wiikey update disc needs to be burnt to a DVD-R not a CD-R right?

    I don't have a gamecube controller so im not sure how im going to be able to set up stuff in the Wiikey menu (dont have my wiikey yet)
     
  7. shonosuke

    Member shonosuke GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you use the reset button for the menu
     
  8. noamkot

    Newcomer noamkot Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Israel
    It's a matter of quality.
    I normally use high quality dvd-r and they work great.
    I once tried a crappy dvd-r and it sucked.
    Old dvd-rw I have were not recognized at all and after seeing that wiikey claims support for dvd+rw, I bought a few verbatim dvd+rw which work wonderfully.
    In the end, it's less about type and more about quality of media.
     
  9. philipcooper

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have got verbatim dvd+r and they dont work at all if i get dvd -r are they better
     
  10. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    The DVD+RWs work just fine for most things. I burn to them first before I commit to the other write-once media...
     

Share This Page