WiiGator's GC Loader Runs in Grayscale

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by VoltManEXE, Jun 15, 2010.

Jun 15, 2010
  1. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I load the loader from the Homebrew Channel, I see the backup loader's logo, in color. Then the screen turns to grayscale and I see the picture flicker and fly up repetitively. I actually had to go on YouTube to figure out what buttons I had to press, since it was flying up so fast that I couldn't read anything. The games run fine, beside the fact that there's no color. I was just wondering why it does this. I went to this tutorial for help. I just want to play the games in color, can anyone help?
     
  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Try holding B till the menu shows up and then force the region you are trying to load.
     
  3. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Tried it, still grayscale. Maybe my app is corrupted or something? Everyone else on YouTube and such dont have their's flickering and flying across the screen.
     
  4. helaciouscrumb

    Newcomer helaciouscrumb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    I get this on one certain tv. Even with the same cables, wii, and discs but one of my tv's will do this. The only fix I have found is to not use multi iso discs. All of my games are ntsc, and I have no idea how to fix it permanently but try using just a single game disc.
     
  5. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I had this problem too. What I did to fix it was patch the loader into the MIOS. This made GC backups run through the Disc Channel (it boots the GC loader instead of the game), and it fixed my problem.
     
  6. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I'll have to try making a single disc later when I can. But for now, how come I've seen people with multi-game discs with no issues?
    And are there any USB gamecube loaders available?

    What exactly does this mean? I used the MIOS patcher for gamecube games, and my cIOS is 249. And were you using a single game disc, or a multi game disc?
     
  7. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    MIOS Patcher?
    1. Run the patcher in HBC.
    2. At the options menu, press X to toggle the disc channel loading ("Supported Boot Method" will read "rungcbackup + Wii Backup Launcher").
    3. Install.
    4. Load GC games through the Disc Channel.
    5. SUCCESS!
     
  8. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Okay... but that's for single discs only right?
     
  9. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Huh? I don't have any single discs.
     
  10. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Well then how can you possibly run a multi-game disc on the disc channel?
     
  11. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There isn't one, but it's possible. Lots of work though.
     
  12. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    DIOS MIO(S)?
     
  13. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Well... not exactly sure what's going on now, but, what should I do? If it's my TV then I'm pretty much screwed. Its not like I can just go to the store and buy a TV just because I want one. And why would the fact that it is a Multi-Game ISO have to do with the way it displays anyhow? Shouldn't it not matter just so long as the game region matches the Wii and TV?
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    It's a known bug of WiiGator's GC loader on NTSC Wiis. Have you tried the latest NeoGamma with GC mode set to internal? That should work a bit better and allow you to choose which video mode to use.
     
  15. VoltManEXE
    OP

    Newcomer VoltManEXE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, ok thanks. I tried what you said and now it works. To tell you the truth, I tried it first and couldn't get it to work. but now I guess it works since I now have the MIOS installed and such. Thanks!
     
  16. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    The way I installed the MIOS makes the Backup Launcher load from the Disc Channel instead of the game. This makes multi-game discs work on the Disc Channel.
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    And results in black&white picture for NTSC users with multi game discs.
     
  18. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    What? Then explain why I'm not having any problems with my multi-game discs on my NTSC-U Wii.
     

Share This Page