Hacking WiiFlow won't recognize covers

MercusMassacre

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
208
Country
United States
I have all my Wii and GC covers good. That isn't the problem. I put a GBA game into a folder, edited the INI to see that folder as the ROMs folder for vbagxgba, and the rom showed up. I changed the INI to see the folder I put my cover into as the cover folder for vbagxgba. It didn't show up. The game is "Pokemon - FireRed Version (USA, Europe) (Rev 1).gba", so I naturally named the cover "Pokemon - FireRed Version (USA, Europe) (Rev 1).gba.png". Why isn't it working? I know I did the folder structure right because the ROM showed up after I edited the INI.
 

Tetsuo Shima

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1,681
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
3,347
Country
Italy
Romdir and coverfolder are not managed the same way.
Romdir is a complete path, coverfolder is relative to wiiflow/boxcovers
So, for example if you have your covers in wiiflow/boxcovers/vgba, your .INI line should be
coverfolder=vgba

Also, remember to always reload cache each time you add or change covers
 
  • Like
Reactions: biggzsizzle

MercusMassacre

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
208
Country
United States
Romdir and coverfolder are not managed the same way.
Romdir is a complete path, coverfolder is relative to wiiflow/boxcovers
So, for example if you have your covers in wiiflow/boxcovers/vgba, your .INI line should be
coverfolder=vgba

Also, remember to always reload cache each time you add or change covers
Thank you. I couldn't figure this out no matter how hard I tried.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tetsuo Shima

Uafa

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
187
Country
Italy
I have the same problem, I can see and play all the roms but covers never appear.

Here's an example with NES (but could have been with MD, GB or anything else).


fceugx.ini

[PLUGIN]
displayname=FCEUltraGX
magic=46434555
coverfolder=NES
dolfile=fceugx-mod12.dol
romdir=ROMS/NES
filetypes=.nes|.zip
consolecoverid=nintendo
covercolor=ff0000
bannersound=nes.ogg
arguments={device}:/{path}|{name}|{loader}


Covers path (coverfolder) | Roms path (romdir)

wii1.png



I keep seeing empty boxes on Wiiflow. What am I doing wrong?

Thank you,
 

Uafa

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
187
Country
Italy
You nes covers should be:
filename.nes.png
Thanks for your help, actually my first try had been with the sequence that you suggested, but since it didn't work I renamed both without .nes (as per screenshot). The issue, however, persists. :/
 
Last edited by Uafa,

Tetsuo Shima

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1,681
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
3,347
Country
Italy
Filename.extension.png is required. Did you reload cache after you renamed your covers?
Do you see any .wfc file in wiiflow/cache/NES?
If you do, delete them and reload cache again.
 

Tetsuo Shima

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1,681
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
3,347
Country
Italy
Have you tried downloading via the app? Then observe the naming structure and replace any customs to your liking.

I'm not sure if this will work with wiiflow, but I've done this with several other apps
You can only download Wii, GC and VC/Wiiware covers with Wiiflow. Their covers are named after the game ID's.
For the emulators it's a different naming convention.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XFlak

KeinesR

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
61
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
115
Country
Venezuela
I have the same problem, I can see and play all the roms but covers never appear.

Here's an example with NES (but could have been with MD, GB or anything else).


fceugx.ini

[PLUGIN]
displayname=FCEUltraGX
magic=46434555
coverfolder=NES
dolfile=fceugx-mod12.dol
romdir=ROMS/NES
filetypes=.nes|.zip
consolecoverid=nintendo
covercolor=ff0000
bannersound=nes.ogg
arguments={device}:/{path}|{name}|{loader}


Covers path (coverfolder) | Roms path (romdir)

View attachment 244719


I keep seeing empty boxes on Wiiflow. What am I doing wrong?

Thank you,

Copy the NES folder in the COVERS folder, not boxcovers, that is how i have it and works perfect, also your image names have to be with the rom format, example, zelda.nes.png, like you were told.
 

Tetsuo Shima

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1,681
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
3,347
Country
Italy
Copy the NES folder in the COVERS folder, not boxcovers, that is how i have it and works perfect, also your image names have to be with the rom format, example, zelda.nes.png, like you were told.
the 'covers' folder is for 2D covers (Front covers only).
If you want 3D covers the 'boxcovers' folder is where they need to be
 

jlhannah64

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 21, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
57
XP
3
Country
United States
Any idea why my Gameboy roms loaded but the titles above the cover art was completely different than the name of the file?
I know this post is a little old but I was having the same problem with renaming roms and the covers. I prefer the naming convention for my roms to be (date) Title (publisher) (region) to help the sorting of so many titles.

I did find the solution, after renaming on your pc, clear the cache before reconnecting to the wii. once in the wii you need to go to setting (gear icon) and scroll to page 12 and make sure "Use Plugin Database Titles" is set to No, I think is set to Yes by default. This solved my issue and everything loads as it should.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XFlak
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: So far like it's fun but too hot lol