Wii working as though wiikey isn't there.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by redrampager, Feb 25, 2008.

Feb 25, 2008
  1. redrampager
    OP

    Newcomer redrampager Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Going off the same problem as my last topic, I fixed it at my house with the GCOS disk. Turns out I made a rookie mistake. The Region override wasn't on. [​IMG]

    Now a new problem. I fixed it at my house, and sent it home with him, he plugs it in and it doesn't read backups. at all.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. AeroScap

    Member AeroScap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well this happened to me recently. I had to get it sent off and have a pro clean up the points and rewire. It works now, hopefully you wont need to do the same >.
     
  3. redrampager
    OP

    Newcomer redrampager Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    But did that actually fix it?

    I would almost be relieved if that was the problem.
     
  4. AeroScap

    Member AeroScap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah that fixed it! I am bombing around on brawl and BWII as we speak!! thiugh consider this as a last resort
     
  5. redrampager
    OP

    Newcomer redrampager Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Well having gone through every number disc available I guess this qualifies, eh?

    Thanks a lot! I'll give it a go.
     
  6. FoulPlay

    Member FoulPlay GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a possibility that the WiiKey installed is fake?
    I've read many topics lately that fake WiiKeys have been malfunctioning making it unable to play back up CDS anylonger, this is usually after updating the WiiKey itself, have you updated it lately? How long ago was your install? Did you update it when the Super Mario Galaxy fix was released?

    There are probably a lot more topics around this forum about the same question you have, I've read a few, and none have suggested that AeroScap has. Although, he has had the problem himself, so try his suggestion, if it works, then it's all good, but if it doesn't... I'd declare your WiiKey as a fake.

    How sure are you it's real?
     
  7. Amadeus

    Newcomer Amadeus Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the same thing a while back.
    Spent a week trying all kinds of disks and updates etc.

    In the end I bit the bullet and opened it up.
    You could also find out if it's a fake chip this way too.
    Take a wii appart is not hard. Just get a good guide and take your time.

    Looks like whoever installed my wiikey did a half assed job of it. All 3 wires had detatched from the chip.

    bought a soldering iron and a toolkit and re-soldered it.

    Bit nervy because it was my first time soldering but it's worked fine for 6 months now.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. AeroScap

    Member AeroScap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah the thing was when I bought my wiikey back in the days, fakes didnt exist!! So I could rule out that possibility.

    You have to keep in mind there is movement from the DVD drive and the heat aswell fromt he general running of the console + wifi action which could contribute to the problem.
     
  9. redrampager
    OP

    Newcomer redrampager Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine now. Thanks guys!!!

    And I was sure it was a genuine.
     
  10. AeroScap

    Member AeroScap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    was all it took a little cleaning up?
     
  11. FoulPlay

    Member FoulPlay GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    United States
    Even though it was genuine, no problem. [​IMG]
    And I'm guessing, along with AeroScap, that it needed cleaning up??
     

Share This Page