Wii without a disk drive

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ZeroMidget, Jan 31, 2011.

Jan 31, 2011

Wii without a disk drive by ZeroMidget at 1:55 AM (5,064 Views / 0 Likes) 39 replies

  1. ZeroMidget
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroMidget Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I recently bought a wii with a broken disk drive. As soon as you put a disk in and it recognizes it, the wii locks down and errors. I was hoping to install a USB loader on it and get it to working but I am having trouble, due to it being on 2.2U firmware. I really don't want to open the Wii up to repair it, I would rather just have it play USB based only. What do I need to do to mod it? I have tried BannerBomb but it locks up everytime thusfar.

    EDIT: The DVD is still IN the system, it just locks up whenever a game is inserted. Everything else works as normal, such as the Mii channel and the forecast/news channel.

    Also, it plays gamecube games just fine surprisingly enough...
     


  2. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Be prepared to open it. I don't think you have any other choice to be quite honest with you.
     
  3. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Wait a minute...so you do have a disk drive but it's just not working?
     
  4. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    damn you are pretty much stuck, you will need to fix the drive in order to hack this wii. due to 4.3 being the latest system menu you will need to update, then hack it, but hacking it would involve using a game to do so.

    no other solutions, as there is no bannerbomb for that old of a system menu.
     
  5. ZeroMidget
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroMidget Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it has a disk drive, it's just not working. I was hoping to circumvent this w/ a mod and I have read that bannerbomb DOES work on 2.2 in other threads.

    However the releases I find freeze on me. It could be I have a microsd in a converter; im not sure (all my normal sd cards are MIA)
     
  6. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, try all releases of this site:

    http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/index.old.php

    But surely they won't work.
     
  7. CYatta

    Member CYatta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, it seems trying to get bannerbomb to work is your only option unless you're keen on replacing that dvd drive, or updating to 4.3 and hoping they eventually port bannerbomb to that.

    So you've tried all of the bannerbomb v1 versions here: http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/aads/
    and also the ones in that archive directory, here? http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/aads/archive/
     
  8. ZeroMidget
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroMidget Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Tried every bannerbomb v1... no dice [​IMG]. There isn't a way to use a computer to spoof the IP of the nintendo servers and host whatever update I want the wii to have and update it that way? (IE make my router redirect nintendo's server to one of my own?
     
  9. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,898
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It is my opinion that this is most likely your issue. I have also read that bannerbomb works on 2.2. You might also want to try reformatting your SD card(s) with SDFormatter.
     
  10. jaynecobb

    Newcomer jaynecobb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    the black
    Country:
    United States
    can't he just run xflak's modmii and be done with it, or am i missing something here? [​IMG]
     
  11. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Without a working exploit, even Modmii can't help him.
     
  12. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    try using different sd card, last time i've modded a wii i had to use 3 sd cards cause the other 2 didn't want to work on bannerbomb on that wii... with non of the versions of bannerbomb
     
  13. jskyboo

    Member jskyboo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Without a dvd drive and bannerbomb not working, there really aren't many options. To hack it you need to run an exploit, if bannerbomb doesn't work then there are only the game exploits, but with a broken drive you can't launch the games. So you need to be able to launch a Wii game without the dvd drive which pretty much just leaves WODE. The good news is since its an old system menu most of the game exploits should work including Twilight Princess but you can't hack a wii if you can't launch an exploit and unless Team Twiizers has another exploit lying around that they haven't told anyone about you can't do it without either a game or bannerbomb.
     
  14. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just my two cents from a while ago (might be worth more due to it being rare [​IMG]): A Wii without a drive doesn't like booting things. Whenever you start something it freezes after a few seconds. Can't seem to find my thread about it
     
  15. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Buy a wode or a sundriver.
     
  16. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,512
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    As said before... try a different SD card. that firmware will absolutely NOT work with an sdhc so you're better off using a 128MB~2GB card. Nothing higher. Otherwise you'll need to open up 2 Wiis. Yours and another one so you can borrow the drive long enough to run smash stack or something (after updating via Nintendo).
     
  17. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if it's that old, it may just need the lense cleaned.
     
  18. samethernet

    Member samethernet GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    Australia
    Here is what to do, use Bannerbomb to install the latest homebrew channel

    then do a Nintendo Update so u update all segments of the wii

    then follow the sticky guide to full softmod it.
     
  19. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    He can't do that, his disk drive is borked and the only way to install the latest Homebrew Channel/Hackmii now is through game exploits, which obviously he cannot do.
     
  20. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Here are your options
    1. Get a different SD card that is 2gb or smaller
    2. Clean the laser,
    3. Replace the drive.
    4. Try installing updates via Recovery Mode
    5. Send it to me and I'll get it working
    6. Purchase a different wii.
     

Share This Page