Wii+Wiikey... update to 4.2 or not? Which procedure?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Cimi, Jan 18, 2010.

Jan 18, 2010
  1. Cimi
    OP

    Newcomer Cimi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi, I've just bought a wii with wiikey chip and an old firmware... I don't know if it's safe and a good choice to update the firmware to 4.2 (using the safe updater of course), or if it's better to leave with the old one...

    Also, I would like to know the right procedure... these are the steps I thought
    1) IOS249 - is it necessary to install ios249 by wananiko? (or it's useless with a wiikey?)
    2) HBC - is it necessary to update the hbc before updating the firmware?
    3) FIRMWARE then I guess I will use the online safe updater
    4) IOS 70
    5) IOS 36
     
  2. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
     
  3. Cimi
    OP

    Newcomer Cimi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Italy
    many thanks... it is useful to update wiikey to 1.9s? I've read in a forum that it limits the dvd speed to 3x, but I think that it could be absolutely false
     
  4. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't know, sorry. But yeah, I'd update it.
     
  5. Cimi
    OP

    Newcomer Cimi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Italy
    how can I trucha signing the ios 70? is there a handy guide for it? thanks
     
  6. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Dop-IOS/Dop-IOS_MOD

    It needs a Trucha signed IOS or cIOS to run. Please ensure it is used appropriately. Although, I think it has anti stub installation. It is also a good idea to only sign it after the update. [​IMG] (IOS70 is 4.2 System Menu's IOS)

    (I think that santa hat needs to be edited out now. [​IMG])
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Wiikey 1 with Wii system menu 4.2 can't play out or region games (edit : without Startpatch or priiloader), as 4.2 changed the way the region is checked when launching disc from disc channel.
    The wiikey doesn't patch the correct address anymore.

    If you have out of region games, you may want to update all to 4.2, then install system menu 4.1 with un-stub IOS first (attention, don't just install 4.1 after 4.2 or you will brick, you need to install IOS60 non stub first, then 4.2).
    Check with DOP-IOS mod if your IOS60 is stub or not.


    I don't know about the 3x speed, I didn't test the speed difference.
    I also heard 1.9s put back the GC streaming audio bug, but it didn't on my Wii, my streaming audio games are working fine, so maybe it was all wrong.
    I don't have any problem with 1.9s


    for the update procedure, I recommend Xzxzero tutorial (sticked in wii hacking forum).
    in an old version of his tutorial, he had the "revert to 4.1" but I think it's not there anymore.
     
  8. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    but with Startpatch or Priiloader you can play out-of-region games from disc channel again.
     
  9. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And if the wiikey doesn't block disc updates, then you don't want to play out of region games from the disc channel unless you have one of those blocking them anyway.
     
  10. Cimi
    OP

    Newcomer Cimi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm just new to the Wii world... why we should play out-of-region games? I don't know japanese or so...
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    About region-free: Don't update(in general), never update from an import game! If a game does not work, check if you have the required IOS and install it manually. No known game requires a certain system menu, they all only require 1 IOS.

    Also about region-free: Whatever you do, region-free from disc channel will always be limited or require patching of the discs. If an import game does not work or only in black&white, get Gecko OS or SoftChip to play it. NeoGamma can also be used, but i recommend something that runs off an IOS and not the cIOS for modchip users.

    About the cIOS: That's complicated. In theory you won't need it. If your modchip is bad only rev13a or rev7 will get you good results(no 001 error). Also these 2 revisions + SoftChip or NeoGamma might be your only chance to play some games with newer 001 error. If you get 001 error somewhere, you will know.
     
  12. Cimi
    OP

    Newcomer Cimi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Italy
    I guess I did not understand completely your point... you're not encouraging me to update to 4.2? (with the right updater, of course, and hbc).
    I thought that the answer of BBking83 was quite logic ant not so invasive
     
  13. Cimi
    OP

    Newcomer Cimi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Italy
    up! in a hour I will going to do the update [​IMG]
     
  14. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    You can update to 4.2 without any problem.
    There will alway be a way to play copies and softmod it back.

    What WiiPower said, it was about the update present on game discs. if a game ask you to update, don't accept if it's an out-of-region game.
    and if it's a same region than your wii, you can still play it whithout updating, because the game don't need the new system menu, it only need you to install the required IOS (using dop-ios mod for example) and run the game with a laoder (geckoOS).

    You can update, but it's not required.
    I'm still at 3.2E, all is working fine.


    About your question : why play NTSC-U or J if you don't understand japanese or english ?
    Some games are never released in europe, or very late, and NTSC-U does also include other languages sometime (Nights, NTSC-J included every languages)
     
  15. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unless you have a korean wii that is region modded, if in doubt you should check first.
    Updating via nintendo is the easiest way, unless you have no way of accessing the internet with the wii.
     
  16. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I don't think Korean Wii can be found that easily in Europe.
    if we import, we choose japan or America.
     
  17. Cimi
    OP

    Newcomer Cimi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Italy
    there's a little problem, the friend of mine who did the procedure, after having done all steps except ios 36 and 70, formatted the wii and then he sent the console.
    the problem is that now I have lost homebrew channel... what can I do?

    EDIT: I re-run the bannerbomb v2, easy
     

Share This Page