Wii was on during a power outage, now doesn't turn on.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by fgsfdsyo, May 13, 2009.

  1. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    My wii was plugged into my surge protector yesterday and we had a power outage.
    I wasn't playing or anything, I was on my laptop.
    Today I go to check my wii and the light isn't even on.
    I've tried different outlets, but nothing seems to give me the red/yellow light.

    Is there anything I can do?
    I'm kind of depressed.
    I've had it since December 06, first bad thing that's happened to it.
     
  2. joshed

    Member joshed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    PHXAZ
    Country:
    United States
    sadly the power supply is probably dead. try another power brick
     
  3. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Also, if there's nothing I can do is it possible to salvage the data on my Wii?
    Or is that just impossible?
     
  4. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    maybe it's your power cord try to buy a different one...
     
  5. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I think I can get my hands on another one tonight.
    Hopefully this is the issue.
     
  6. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    Nothing should have happened to it, unless you were installing something... Try another power brick / cord.
     
  7. brownmurder

    Member brownmurder GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    i had this, unplug your wii for 10 mins then plug it back in
     
  8. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Good luck... Third party power bricks are pretty cheap.

    eg - http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.20250

    Try leaving your brick unplugged for a while - sometimes they go in to a failover mode to prevent damage, and just need to sit unpowered for a while to come back to life.
     
  9. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    many many many many thanks.

    I was about to rush out and buy a $30 adapter, but you've saved me.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  10. joshed

    Member joshed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    PHXAZ
    Country:
    United States
    glad that worked, happened to me once
     
  11. earthworm

    Newcomer earthworm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    Same happened to me to.....my wife unplugged my wii while it was powered on.....i panicked when it then refused to turn on.....I then unplugged it and left it for a few minutes and then retried and it worked fine [​IMG]
     
  12. benzy

    Newcomer benzy Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Same here. I nearly freaked out when a surge went through the house and then the wii wouldn't power back on. Read some posts and then unplugged mine for 10 min. and it came back up. There might be some built in fuse or something.
     
  13. GolfDude

    Member GolfDude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    788
    Country:
    United States
    nintendo told me that the power adapter has its own fail safe in it to break before any surge hits the system and can simply be reset.. but i forgot how she said to reset the brick..
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    tsk tsk tsk buy a surge protector
     
  15. sleestax

    Newcomer sleestax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Happened to me...accidently turned of the wrong circuit breaker when I was doing some work on my house and cut the power to it while it was running...FREAKED OUT. Left it unplugged for 15 minutes and it worked again.
     
  16. fgsfdsyo
    OP

    Member fgsfdsyo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Regardless, the fix is to unplug the Wii and Power strip and wait 10-15 minutes.
    I can't guarantee it'll work all the time, but it worked for me.
     
  17. Wiinie

    Newcomer Wiinie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    The same thing happened to me. What i did was i went to gamestop and got a new ac adapter. I plugged it in and my wii turned on. The i plugged in the old one and the wii continued to work. Its weird but the wii times out when there is a surge.
     
  18. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,264
    Country:
    Australia
    i had the same issue basicly i had to unplug everyting from the wii, and leave for 12 hours
     
  19. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    No, the advice is to buy a UPS. They go on sale periodically for $20 after rebate. All your critical electronics should have backups. If not for the safety, for the convenience. Who wants to lose a game in between saves? If I lose power to my cable box, it takes 10 minutes for it to reboot. With a UPS, I never have to worry.
     

Share This Page