Hardware Wii Video Underscan

coledw

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
16
Country
United States
Hello!

I have an RVL-001 Wii. I recently upgraded from an HD TCL Roku TV to a UHD (4K) JVC Roku TV.

I normally use a Wii2HDMI converter (sorry) for convenience, but also have access to a standard AV cable. I have picture settings on 480p and Widescreen always for the HDMI signal. When running the Wii on my old Roku TV, I had to press the asterisk (*) button on the remote, then change picture size from Auto to Stretch. This filled the image to the whole screen, not distorted at all (the TV squashed the signal automatically).

Now, I have the same picture coming into my TV, but I have severe underscan when changing the signal to Stretch (non-distorted). There is no setting on my TV that fixes the issue. Weirdly though, I do not experience underscan when in USB Loader GX. I have also tried plugging the Wii in to the HDMI in port on my Xbox One- it’s even worse.

It is understandably annoying to play games on a smaller screen then my TV. How can I fix this?

Thanks!
 

Codemastershock

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
257
Trophies
0
XP
822
Country
Brazil
Completely normal since the wii doesnt use the whole resolution into accout, even on wii u this happens: usbgx use the whole screen, wii games dont. The only way to avert this is changing the usbgx overscan settings to match from the games.
 

coledw

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
16
Country
United States
Completely normal since the wii doesnt use the whole resolution into accout, even on wii u this happens: usbgx use the whole screen, wii games dont. The only way to avert this is changing the usbgx overscan settings to match from the games.
That would make everything uniform. However, it means EVERYTHING would be smaller than my TV. I need to know how to make everything fill the screen! I will definitely set that up though.
 

coledw

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
16
Country
United States
by sucking it up and moving on?
Oh. I thought you meant there was a setting in RokuOS that fixes it. My bad.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have a theory. Would using a component cable and then a component-to-HDMI converter solve it? I could get that setup for $20.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Draxikor

Draxikor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
311
Trophies
0
XP
960
Country
Mexico
Oh. I thought you meant there was a setting in RokuOS that fixes it. My bad.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have a theory. Would using a component cable and then a component-to-HDMI converter solve it? I could get that setup for $20.
Get the Portta converter
 

Draxikor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
311
Trophies
0
XP
960
Country
Mexico
Try this:
On USB loader GX in game setting set Video mode to "ForceNTSC480p" and in "Dol video patch" set to All, and maybe this correct the problem.
 

Draxikor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
311
Trophies
0
XP
960
Country
Mexico
No luck. Same problem. Do you think component would solve it?
It's possible, the problem with generic hdmi adapters is that since they do not have a quality standard, each piece can have problems of this type, although you cannot rule out that it is TV.
Some TVs have problems when they detect a type of signal through a different cable, it is possible that the TV detects without problem 480p by component cable but not by HDMI, something similar is when you play 240p content through component cable. I would do the test with the Portta in the end it is much better than the wii2hdmi and it does not intervene much with the source signal, it only converts it to digital.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    gudenau @ gudenau: I was corrupting memory that just happened to be object metadata of some sort.