Wii vertical placement cause DRE's?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by arthurkok2, Mar 14, 2007.

Mar 14, 2007
  1. arthurkok2
    OP

    Member arthurkok2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    Canada
    I installed a chip, and i was testing some backup games on it. It worked fine, no DRE's with any game.

    Then I played them with the Wii in vertical position and then i got many DRE's. Anyone have the same problem?
     
  2. pipesfranco

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no not at all its always been vertical...could be a wire that drops and shorts??? but probably not
     
  3. Hogmeister

    Member Hogmeister GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    sounds to me like you possibly have a short when you put the wii in the other position, i'd check your connections on the modchip and make sure none of the wires are able to touch each other when you tilt it. only thing i can think of as to cause something like that.
     
  4. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    always had mine in vertical position.....been fine.
     
  5. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    whats the best method for making sure the wires dont move around once the case is closed? tape work okay?
     
  6. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    IMO the best way to make sure is to mount the chip close to the points and use stiff (single strand/solid core) wires, cut them short so they are not dangling in the first place.
    Apart from that tape will be fine as long as it's decent tape. Sticky tape or cheap electrical tape can come loose when it gets warm so I'd invest an extra dollar or two on some good tape.
    Hot melt glue is easy to apply and remove from a flat surface and should be pretty sturdy too.
     
  7. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I believe this happened with the CycloWiz V1 and Wiinja V1 because they caused the drive to spin at 2x. Maybe the disc misaligns due to gravity?
     
  8. arthurkok2
    OP

    Member arthurkok2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    Canada
    i have a chiip installed and it spins slower too...i was thinking the same thing..
     
  9. cheesyPOOF5

    Member cheesyPOOF5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    That makes sense to me...don't have my cyclowiz yet(still [​IMG] ) so I can't really confirm.
     
  10. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wiinja v1 dont have any problem with discspeed, its always 6x [​IMG]

    only cyclowiz and the 'free' modchip have the problem of spinning the discs at 2x.
     

Share This Page