Wii Updated by game and backup launcher don't work anymore.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by charlieg, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi

    I bought a newer Wii with 4.0U firmware version and with that came Wii Fit, i did the Softmod before all things and then, i put Wii Fit in the console to play it, it was asking me to do an update and i accidentally did that, now, my Neogamma do not work anymore. When i put a burned game in my console, it came up a black screen and then .. nothing .. can i do something to play backup again ?

    I DID NOT install Bootmii or Preloader and i DO NOT want to install it 'cause i don't want to hack my wii too much, just want to play games with backup launcher, nothing else. Also, i don't want to install a modchip don't know how it's working, just softmod

    Thank you
     


  2. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Did you buy the console new in a store and it came with 4.0U? Or did you buy it used, and it was updated to 4.0U beforehand?

    Were your backups loading before you updated with wii fit?

    Side Note:Newer Consoles are coming with Drives that can't read backups by software, these consoles seem to come shipped with 4.0 installed
     
  3. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes i bought the console new in store and it came with 4.0U i was able to load backups before i updated with Wii Fit ..
     
  4. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    hmm,I would update to 4.2 using xzxzero's guide...works wonders!
     
  5. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    can i only redo the softmod ? and if not, if i update to 4.2 will i have to redo the softmod ?
     
  6. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    you could re-do your steps...if you update to 4.2 offically you will have to re-softmod the wii...or you could use the 4.2 safe updater
     
  7. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Are you on firmware 4.2 already after the update? If so just follow the soft mod guide in the stickies by xzxzero even if you are not you can still follow his soft mod guide for firmware versions below 4.2 to get back up and running.
     
  8. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    but i meant, the only issue for this is to update on 4.2u ? i can't stay on 4.0 firmware ?
     
  9. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It's just easier to update to 4.2 and do everything from scratch, that's all. There's no harm in doing so anyway.
     
  10. cayspekko

    Newcomer cayspekko Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I would definitely run bootmii and make a backup of your nand though, especially if you can install it as boot2. I bricked my wii trying to recover homebrew after a nintendo update (mostly because I'm stupid, but better safe than sorry right?)
     
  11. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    unfortunately, i could not install bootmii as boot2 and anyway, i don't want to let my SD card in my Wii, also, i don't want to have to pass through 2 options (Bootmii and then backup launcher or disc channel) to play a game, just 1 is ok [​IMG] i also want to know, i installed some a bit of "Virtual Console Games" .WAD in my wii, will they work again after i update to 4.2? Do i do the nintendo update or is their another update i should put to update it to 4.2?

    Thank you for your patience, i'm not quite experimented in hacking wii, but i think i'm good enough to do all you are telling me to do ..
     
  12. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    you could update through nintendo, or you could upgrade to 4.2 via this method Zektor's Method this is the method I used to go from a hacked 4.1 to 4.2...or you could use xzxero's guide found hereModify Any Wii.
     
  13. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    i'll try to update through Nintendo because it is easy to update, and like i said, i downloaded a couple of Virtual Console Games in .wad, will they work again with the update or will i have to reinstall it too ? also, with those games installed, can it brick my wii ?
     
  14. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    use the safe updater instead

    the games wont brick your wii
    probably just wont work off the sd card menu until you trucha your IOS70
     
  15. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    They are on the wii, installed by wad manager so they don't use my SD Card .. but maybe i will one day or another ..
     
  16. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    Is the Safe Updater is the Zektor's method right? if it is, what's that mean IOS60 as a stub ? is their an order for installing all the packed wad ?
     
  17. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    many people said to me to do not update in 4.2 .. can i only redo my steps i did before i updated with Wii Fit ? it was only a disc update so i wish to play backup again, will it work again if i redo all steps ? or maybe if i uninstall Neogamma channel and then i reinstall it ? it's getting complicated since some say i should update to 4.2 and others say i shouldn't since i don't have brick protection
     
  18. EeZeEpEe

    Member EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Just install Bootmii and Preloader. It's not that big of a deal. You should always have brick protection no matter how minimal your hacking is. You said you can't even install as Boot2 so you're not even going to see it on startup. Preloader you can autoboot to the system menu plus skip the health screen.
     
  19. charlieg
    OP

    Member charlieg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    if Bootmii is installed as an IOS, how can i access it if my wii is bricked ?
     
  20. EeZeEpEe

    Member EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    You'll have Preloader to access Bootmii. It's not as good as having Bootmii installed Boot2 but it's better than nothing. There's plenty of people here who do the same thing, myself included. You'll at least have brick protection from an unusable System Menu.
     

Share This Page