wii update?????? on pal?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by pipesfranco, Apr 10, 2007.

Apr 10, 2007

wii update?????? on pal? by pipesfranco at 12:31 PM (18,875 Views / 0 Likes) 173 replies

  1. pipesfranco
    OP

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just put super paper mario on and it did an update to my system....wonder what its done?
     


  2. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    no one will never know... [​IMG]
     
  3. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No idea. System is now 2.1E.

    Wasn't it 2.04E before? I forget. Can't see any changes though..
     
  4. nWorulezzz

    Newcomer nWorulezzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Checked now...my system is 2.1E also...
    And im burning Paper Mario at the moment...
    So version number doesnt change
     
  5. sousa

    Newcomer sousa Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    After that update, my wii rebooted and got stuck on a message complaining that it couldn't access address marc:EU/EU/ENG/Setup/ScreenSave.html. Seems like an Opera error page but I don't have Opera installed(I don't have wireless).
    I have a Wiikey and had patched the game to PAL(it didn't work unmodified). I guess you guys should be careful.
     
  6. kristijan08

    Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    can anyone confirm this? wonder if it actually does do an update or not
     
  7. dirtycarrot

    Newcomer dirtycarrot Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    Mine said it updated but nothing seemed to change. The update was extremely quick though, but it did reboot afterwards.
    One thing I did notice, before the update, the game icon would not show up in the channel menu.
     
  8. Hottar

    Newcomer Hottar Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    My Pal Wii with wiikey starts teh update but fails at about 90%
    Tried 3 times with the same result. I have just burnt the 1.2 wiikey config disk and will try after setting it to region free and 3x read speed.

    I have sen numerous reports on another site that ppl succesfully updates their pal wiis with wiikey.

    @sousa: what version did you have before updating and have you been able to fix the problem?
    My system version is 2.0E, maybe i should take the wii online and update with a european update instead?
     
  9. sousa

    Newcomer sousa Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
  10. Hottar

    Newcomer Hottar Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hmmm... I'm thinking maybe i should wait playing this game.. don't want to ruin my wii for just one game. Been really looking forward to play this though..

    I'll try with an online update and then see what happens when i put the game disc in.
     
  11. pipesfranco
    OP

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    everything is fine on wiikey 4x burn

    on chapter 1-2 no issues

    seems fine
     
  12. Hottar

    Newcomer Hottar Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Updated to 2.1E online, game still wants to update and fails at about 90%
    Seems wierd that most people are able to play, I cant apply the update and ive seen two reports of "bricking" (or at least wii not working properly) after updating.

    Different manufacturing dates with changes in hardware?

    Mine is model NO: RVL 001EUR bought in Germany
     
  13. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did the LAN adapter MAC address show in Wii settings before? I don't remember it being there/.
     
  14. pipesfranco
    OP

    Member pipesfranco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no it didnt, i reckon this is for some online foolery or nintendo logging mac addresses!
     
  15. hot_madras

    Newcomer hot_madras Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So for those that's got it working, di you have to patch it?

    Just wondering if it's the patching that's messed things up sousa.

    EDIT : and Sousa, is yours a genuine Wiikey?
     
  16. sousa

    Newcomer sousa Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I've wondered about the patching myself.
    I think I have a genuine wiikey, can't really be sure since I paid for the service and although I have confidence in the person that provided such service, he could've been fooled. By the look of things, I guess I'll find out when I open my console to take out the wiikey.
     
  17. hot_madras

    Newcomer hot_madras Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My only doubt about your Wiikey would be due to the fact that you had to patch the game wheras others seem to have gotten away without patching. You've done people a great service posting about your issues so we can hopefully help others from doing the same.

    All we need to do now is work out the pattern of the problem. Does anybody know where else has threads detailing the paper mario update error?
     
  18. herpes

    Newcomer herpes Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the same problem on a PAL Wii with a genuine Wiikey (set to be region free), I didn't patch the game. I've taken the system battery out and I'm going to leave the Wii unplugged for a few hours in the hope that "EU/EU/ENG/Setup/ScreenSave.html" is a setting (or tied to a setting) that may be reset. If not, I've learned an expensive lesson...
     
  19. avatarx

    Newcomer avatarx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    so only the PAL units trying to play NTSC Super Paper Mario have this problem?
    Does anyone with USA NTSC Wii unit have the same problem?
     
  20. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    herpes is ur wii setup to be online? Because that page is accessing a website and if ur wii isnt setup to be online it cnt view that page...my 2 pence anyways.
     

Share This Page