Wii Update Blocker?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by JustinSimpson, Feb 2, 2012.

Feb 2, 2012

Wii Update Blocker? by JustinSimpson at 10:02 PM (2,416 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Okay...so I am new here, and I'm sorry if I posted this in the wrong section as I am also new to this stuff on my wii, hence why I am here. I have USB Loader GX but every time I run a game after quitting it and later going back to it, it just resets the wii to the homebrew channel after I start it.

    I went to this site, and it gave me a good way to fix this.

    http://porn.gbatemp.net/forum/f41/usb-loader-gx-not-loading-games-2197944/

    Scroll down to where user Noledox helps tell how to fix. He also mentions this: An Update Blocker to stop this from happening again.

    His method only helps me once, as I will have to reinstall CIOS every time I want to replay it, but I don't want to do that. So what is this Update Blocker that I should download to stop this from happening? I tried Googling it and I got a Wii Brick Blocker but I don't know if thats exactly what I am looking for. Any help?

    Also, a friend who showed me about this stuff said he doesn't use USB Loader GX, he uses like...USBLoader or something like that, I don't remember the name. Are there any other good alternatives that won't have me have this problem?
     


  2. Fyrus

    Member Fyrus Artilleur Carmin

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Marseille - France
    Country:
    France
    Use Priiloader, it has an option to block Disc updates.
     
  3. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    Priiloader is the best way to block disc updates AND system updates.
     
  4. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Is that also a USB loader? It came with this bundle of hacks I downloaded off the internet but some of it is stuff like emulators and cheat stuff that I won't use more than likely. So is Priiloader a USB loader? Also, will it play the saved data of a game I played from USB Loader GX?
     
  5. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    No, Priiloader is NOT a USB loader. It allows you to boot straight to the Homebrew channel, or your favorite homebrew app (such as a USB loader). It can also enable Sys.menu hacks (such as blocking updates).
     
  6. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    So by using this, I can stop getting updates for my games and my system automatically?
     
  7. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, but you've gotta install it and enable the hacks first.
     
  8. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Its already installed I believe. I'll attempt it now...I had to put my wbfs file on my flash drive again cause after the reinstall of CIOS I guess I had to delete the game from the list of games (2) on my hard drive and then put it back on for it to work. So...Basically just turn it on and set it to stop giving me updates for games and system?
     
  9. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    Yup.

    /2words
     
  10. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    How do I make it stop giving me updates? As soon as I start it, it gives me four options. To install/update it, to remove it, to 'chicken out and leave', or to go to CIOS 249...Do I do the 249...?
     
  11. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    If you have Priiloader INSTALLED already, hold the Reset button when you start up the Wii. If you DON'T have it installed, install/update.
     
  12. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Ok so I installed it...do I turn off my wii, then turn it on while holding the reset button?
     
  13. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    That should bring up the Priiloader menu. Go the the "Hacks" menu, and enable "Disable Online updates" and "Disable Disc updates".
     
  14. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Alright...Let me do that real quick then.
     
  15. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Quick question. Do I have to start up my wii by holding down the reset button EVERY time I turn it on? I turned off the Disc and Online updates now by the way...am going to try my game now.
     
  16. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    No, you only need to hold Reset if you want to access the Priiloader menu. If you just press the power button, it'll go right to the health warning screen. (That is, unless you disabled the heath warning screen in the priiloader hacks menu).
     
  17. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Okay so after a few hours of playing my game and getting bored of all the running around, I decide to save and quit to the system menu. I boot up Homebrew Channel and go to USB Loader GX and load up my game...It works. Thanks :]

    While I'm here...and not to flood the topic board with another question, is there any way a Gamecube ISO can be loaded from a USB? If so, what program? I don't believe USB Loader GX is able to read Gamecube ISOs
     
  18. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, you've gotta run 'em via disc or DVD. Neogamma runs them fine, if you have a patched MIOS. But that's a different story, for another thread.

    Glad I could help!
     
  19. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Or an SD Gecko, so long as you have any disk in the drive, whether it's Wii or GC doesn't matter. But neither compatibility nor speed are perfect. Also, this won't work on the newest rev of Wii consoles that have all GC I/O removed.
     
  20. JustinSimpson
    OP

    Newcomer JustinSimpson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    I tried NeoGamma but the thing is, for some reason, my 4.7GB DVD+R disk won't allow me to burn WBFS/ISO files to it. I use IMGBurn but it always says that the disk is not empty, even though it is. I believe the disk is new, as I found it while going through some old stuff and the disk looks brand new along with some other blanks that also experience the same problem. Whats wrong? Is it not formatted or something...?
     

Share This Page