Wii Update 3.1

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by taggart6, Oct 10, 2007.

Oct 10, 2007

Wii Update 3.1 by taggart6 at 5:52 PM (5,580 Views / 0 Likes) 36 replies

  1. taggart6
    OP

    Member taggart6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    So any one try this out yet? How are mod chips responding to this update?
     


  2. FrEEzEr

    Newcomer FrEEzEr Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Cyclowiz v2, PAL, D2B (with cut legs) no errors yet but haven't tried a backup only Wii Sports...
     
  3. Padreko

    Newcomer Padreko Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    anyone with the wiikey try this yet?
     
  4. elmnt61

    Newcomer elmnt61 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    Someone on IGN w/ WiiKey said he updated and now wii will directly load the game instead of going to the homescreen first... that's all i know. i haven't upgraded myself.
     
  5. gEist

    Member gEist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Germany
    well..... everything is fine here... and... finally i think java works in opera/ internet channel [​IMG]
    meebo works here [​IMG]
     
  6. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried upgrading on a PAL wii with wiikey fitted. It gets to 1/4 of the way then says the wii can't upgrade because of an internal error. I'm wondering if its the mod chip or that its too busy with everyone downloading the update? I just hope they've made opera work with the keyboard this time. That's the only update I want.
     
  7. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    'You can now use a USB keyboard with the Wii menu'

    Hm, I wonder if it works with the internet channel. Someone try it!
     
  8. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Are you confusing Java and Javascript or Flash?

    I hope you're not. [​IMG]
     
  9. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on it! I'll try it as soon as it's done updating.
     
  10. gEist

    Member gEist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Germany

    next time i will write javaScript... i thought that everyone will know what i mean,..
    and im soooo sorry .p

    meebo = ajax/javascript
     
  11. topboy

    Newcomer topboy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Canada
    I have Wiikey/ USA. I updated...............it does not directly start the game. So i guess its pretty safe to update. I tested DBZ 3 JAP, works
     
  12. j5c077

    Member j5c077 dood

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    United States
    wasnt there already a thread for this?
     
  13. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nope, not true...
     
  14. SuperGeek

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Does that mean Nintendo has figured out a way to detect modchips? O.O
     
  15. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Not yet. He said that in response to the guy that said that the Wii games boot directly, not that the game won't boot [​IMG]
     
  16. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Update done [​IMG]

    Wii: Europe/PAL
    Firmware: 3.1E
    Chipset: DMS
    Modchips: WiiKey / CycloWiz / WiiFree / ChiiP / OpenWii / Hacked Wiinja V2 for PIC 12F629 / Yaosm / WiiKey Hacked for ATMEL

    All work well after the update.

    USB Keyboard works fine on Wii for sending messages, DOES NOT work in Opera for Wii
     
  17. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    USB Keyboard *does* work for Opera, you just need to download a update for the browser in the shop channel.

    There's also a Update for the Everybody Votes channel, though I've yet to figure out what it does.
     
  18. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine finally updated, it must have been busy. Can't connect to the shopping channel now. Must be too many people trying to update.
     
  19. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    backups still working addy?
     
  20. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    USA + Wiikey + Internet Update + Every1 votes update = fine. my wii didn't go kaboom

    And modchips now violtate the TOS. Dunno if they did before. I actually read it. ALL.
     

Share This Page