***WII Update 3.0U/E/J - FAQ***

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by FoxMcClaud, Aug 7, 2007.

Aug 7, 2007
  1. FoxMcClaud
    OP

    Newcomer FoxMcClaud Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Germany
    Just to make it easier for anyone who wants Infos about the Update and Modchips I try to summarize everything we know here:

    - removed by shaunj66 -

    *******

    Following Disc Dont work anymore:
    original Action Replay for WII v1.14b
    action replay version 1.05 NTSC does not work on a NTSC wii
    action replay version 1.14b PAL does not boot on a PAL Wii directly or with gcos
    freeloader version 1.06b PAL also does not work on a PAL wii
    WIIKEY Setup Disc -> New version released!!! Working now!
    Cyclowiz Update Disc
    SD Media Launcher (not confirmed)
    WiiFree update disc


    [/b]
    NEW: There is a homebrew disc maker for 3.0 See here:
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/nintendo-wii-n...g-bootdisk.html


    From Kotaku Comments:
    -there are reports that the update "detects" the WiiKey setup disc, and prevents it from running. a modder from Australia has confirmed this on 4 different consoles. everything else works, and even lets you load the WiiKey disc, but it displays an error as soon as you launch it from the menu.
    nintendo can't detect hardware that's been added to the wii, so they flagged the setup disc via firmware update. the WiiKey disc name would be the same all over the world.

    - It's seems that the WIIKEY and the WIIFREE Setup Disc are also not working, but someone found this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AS_Ld-VDqII


    4. Future Updates:

    After you updated to 3.0 if you click on update there is a Message that tells you that the update may brick ur modded WII.
    [​IMG]

    But no new Update (3.3 some claim) is confirmed yet!!!


    PLEASE JUST WRITE IN THIS THREAD TO CONFIRM OTHER CONFIGS:

    PAL/NTSC - (if known CHipset) - Modchip - Older Firmware Number - Working/not working, Backups, Wiiconnect, Setup discs!


    Edit: Just now saw the Virus warning, I live in a different TimeZone, so i was sleeping [​IMG]
    Updated the Faq with any new Infos I could find!
    Cheers
     


  2. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I really find it hard to believe that a firmware update would stop a drive chip from working.
     
  3. FoxMcClaud
    OP

    Newcomer FoxMcClaud Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Germany
    We try to nail down the problem in the other thread!
     
  4. _NeTcHoW_

    Newcomer _NeTcHoW_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Brazil
    What about the Wiimod? Anybody uses it? I have a Wii USA with wiimod, and I am afraid to update. My Wii is 2.2U. Anybody?
     
  5. FoxMcClaud
    OP

    Newcomer FoxMcClaud Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Germany
    I have no conformation on the WIIMod. Maybe you could ask in the other thread you are the first one to ask.

    Generally i think that the update does not effect the mods, at least not yet. So the only way to find out if it works is to update and tell us [​IMG]
     
  6. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    I'm waiting for a game with 3.0E firmware :/
     
  7. Da Foxx

    Member Da Foxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm confused about the WiiKey setup disc. Is this an official setup disc from the Wiikey team or is this a GCOS + WiiKey?
     
  8. FoxMcClaud
    OP

    Newcomer FoxMcClaud Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Germany
    The official one stopped working, now they realised a new version, see edited 1 post!

    EDIT: The new version is from a warez group not official. but seems to work!

    If you got any disc not working, just pop in the GcOS first and after that the SetupDisc/Update disc - whatever! This still works!!
     
  9. xiaNaix

    Member xiaNaix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Country:
    United States
    For anything that isn't working, you can rebuild the isos with this app...

    *REMOVED - Possible Virus*
     
  10. LostToApathy

    Newcomer LostToApathy Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi everyone,
    Just signed up, this is my first post here [​IMG]

    PAL Wii 3.0E (Updated from 2.2E) with GC2-DMS chipset and WiiD drive chip (firmware 02) - Working.

    I ran the update from settings, then tried to update again to see if a newer update was available, i got the warning screen about modified consoles but no update was found, then I tried some Wii and GC games and all the Wii online channels (Shop, News, Internet, Forecast) and everything works fine. Also tested online play with Mario Strikers.
    I haven't tested the Wiid setup disk since to do so i should completely reset my WiiD and reupdate it and i'd prefere not doing it for the moment.
    It's not really a "setup disk" either, just an update disk wich has no interface or settings whatsoever, it just has to be inserted in the Wii and it automatically updates the WiiD firmware to add region free patching on the fly and audiofix for GC games and there's no sign of success aside import/GC-CDDAaudio Games working.

    Hope this helps someway!
     
  11. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the files wiikey 1.2 new setup disc posted in this topic contain a virus, be cautious... the setup discs in those files are exactly the same as the ones on the wiikeys website, the only difference is there is a virus contained in the exe SO DO NOT OPEN IT. TOPIC STARTER PLEASE REMOVE THE LINKS, THE ORIGINAL POSTER necronzero IN THE OTTHER TOPIC HAS BEEN REPORTED TO A MOD AND HE WILL BE NOT SPREADING LIES OR VIRUSES ANYMORE!
     
  12. masdeeper

    Member masdeeper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Canada
    NTSC - (if known CHipset) - Wiikey - 2.2U - Works- Backups Works- Wiiconnect works but did not tested with mario soccer since I have the PAL version [​IMG]
     
  13. AzaMcWazza

    Newcomer AzaMcWazza Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    It seems that PAL Wii's with Wiikey that are updating to 3.0E are proving to be fine. This could be due to some PAL countries, New Zealand specifically where modding your Wii is legal and making backups for your own personal use is OK too. If all they can detect is the region of your Wii, they may have to play it safe.

    Not sure, but I think it's safe for PAL WiiKey users to upgrade.
     
  14. pirate_arrh

    Newcomer pirate_arrh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Legal in NZ? really? this is news to me.....
     
  15. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it's exactly the same for all regions and perfectly fine >< nobody in the world has bricked cuz of this update
     
  16. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ANY NEW READERS IN THIS TOPIC PLEASE READ THE WARNING POST BEFORE YOU PROCEED TO DOWNLOAD ANYTHING IN THIS TOPIC!
     
  17. knivez

    Newcomer knivez Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    confirmed working on wiid ntsc with 3.0u update.

    backups- all regions- tested strikers pal, and various ntsc
    did not test online but that should not be a problem.

    gcos with various backups- worked fine

    everything seems the same.
     
  18. monty0ntherun

    Newcomer monty0ntherun Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Cyclowiz 3.5 PAL UK Wii, upgraded to 3.0u and all perfect here [​IMG]
     
  19. Carny

    Newcomer Carny Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi

    i have upgrade 3 german pal Wii's from 2.2E to 3.0E

    all wii's are with Chiip v0.9.1 and there are no Problems.

    Carny
     
  20. Teun

    Member Teun GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I also heard the 3.0 Update makes it possible to use an USB keyboard with Opera..
     

Share This Page