Wii turns on but no A/V

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by 3020, Dec 5, 2011.

Dec 5, 2011

Wii turns on but no A/V by 3020 at 5:56 AM (1,878 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. 3020
    OP

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I modded my wii a few years back and for some reason last month the system menu got corrupted and I couldn't turn on the wii through normal means. That didn't bother me since I had priiloader installed and being the lazy person I am I just loaded games by launching my usb loader through it. Well I finally decided to try and rectify my system menu issue since I had changed my router and needed to get to the system menu to get at wifi. So I stupidly installed system menu 4.1 wad without thinking and now when the wii turns on there is no response to the TV, only a black screen and my tv telling me there is no signal even through the wii light and cd drive on.

    Is there any way to fix this or am I screwed?
    I have bootmii installed as boot2 and that is the only thing that will load, unfortunately I don't have my old nand.bin/key.bin backups because my hard drive died a year back. Nothing else loads not even priiloader, though I have heard about using a gamecube controller (which I have) to run savemefrii and load up brawl or something would work but I wanted to check if there was anything else I could do or if that would even work.

    Thanks for Looking and I hope someone out there can help...
     
  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    That's a fullbrick, you forgot to install the system menu ios... If you can still use bootmii to get into the homebrew channel install ios60.
     
  3. 3020
    OP

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    Well looks like I am screwed... When i click the homebrew channel button it does the same black screen. Can I load it through the SD card button on bootmii and if so how?
     
  4. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    Bootmii works? Backup nand then.
    Inject IOS required by SM.
    Restore fixed image.

    You win.
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Ignore what mike333 said, at least for the time being. Creating a virgin nand is a last resort.

    Go to www.bootmii.org and download the latest hackmii installer. Place bootmini.elf on your SD card, load it from bootmii's SD browser. From there, re-install the HBC and bootmii as boot2. Now you should be able to load the HBC from bootmii and install a valid IOS60, which you can get from ModMii.
     
  6. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    I've never said anything about virgin nand.
    Read my post again.
    Just tried it HBC installer (boot.elf v0.8) won't run from bootmii. At least from botmii@IOS.
     
  7. 3020
    OP

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    Well when i load the bootmini.elf the screen goes green for a second then goes to the health and saftey screen, then when i press A it goes to the system files are corrupt screen. It is at least better than not showing up on my tv at all... Should I try the nand thing then?

    How exactly would I inject the ios?
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I said bootmini.elf, not boot.elf. They are two different types of installers. bootmini.elf runs from mini.

    How exactly is the OP supposed to create a nand.bin file once it's been extracted?


    @3020: Back up your bootmii folder and extract cboot2 to your SD card. When you turn on your Wii, MMM should load. You can install IOS60 from there.
     
  9. 3020
    OP

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    still doesn't work, I see the text that says c boot on the top left corner but after a second the screen goes green and goes to the health and saftey menu then to the system files are corrupt screen.
     
  10. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Ohneschwanzenegger
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't realize you could edit an existing nand with it. However, there is clearly another issue here if he is getting an error message.
     
  12. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why would you do that "without thinking"? if you already have successfully modded the wii once before. I thought people bricking their wii like this was a thing in 2008, not late 2011! :/
     
  13. 3020
    OP

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah.... i was an idiot i haven't looked at this stuff for years and completely forgot the basics till this happend....
     
  14. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    Stop wasting time for silly chats with ego-issues person.
    Url was posted.
    Import Your nand. Inject IOS60v6174 and SM4.1.
    Burn and pray.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, I'm guessing you haven't been around for the past three years. Full bricks happen often enough, although you don't see them as much on this forum.
     
  16. 3020
    OP

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey mike333 your idea worked like a charm and my wii is running smooth once again, actually even better now since I have my system menu back.TEARS OF JOY are pouring out of my face right now and I would like like to thank all of you for the help. INTERNET CAKE FOR ALL !!!!!
     
  17. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I suspect that the original issue was related to a bad block though. Glad you got it fixed.
     
  18. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    5zł
     
  19. 3020
    OP

    Member 3020 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Turn around
    Country:
    Canada
    Just wannted to say thanks again and its amazing how fast you guys respond, I really appreciate it.
     

Share This Page