Wii theme help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by VGMStudios, Dec 26, 2009.

Dec 26, 2009

Wii theme help by VGMStudios at 4:07 AM (1,684 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. VGMStudios
    OP

    Newcomer VGMStudios Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Canada
    I am tring to make a Wii theme for the system menu, but everytime I pass 17BM I get a "system files are corrupted" message on my Wii.
    Is 17MB the limit?
    I do not know how to use yaz0dec.exe as I heard it can compress your files. but what files? the csm file?
    I try drag and drop on yaz0dec.exe but nothing happens. A dos window flashes but thats it.

    can someone PLEASE shine some light on this? Yes i tried using the search function for yaz0dec.exe but didnt find much and Wadder.net is down.

    I also read that ppl have 24MB theme files and they work. How is this possible?

    VGM out...
     
  2. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Has it got the right .app file as the base?
     
  3. AetherMaster

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, themes. My area of expertise...

    No, as far as I know, there's really no limit to the size of your themes. I've used some that were way over 17mb, so that's obviously not your issue.

    So, there are a couple of things that you could try...

    1: Get the WADder.net Portapack and use the included base.app getter to make sure that you're using the correct one.

    2: If you plan to yaz0 compress the files, you're using the wrong tool. You need yaz0enc, not yaz0dec. Portapack's Extras.dat has a GUI version of it. You need to compress the ASH files inside the .csm (located in layout/common). Don't know how to extract the csm to get the ASH files? Don't risk it. It could lead to a brick.

    3: Assuming you're using MyMenu, It could be a bad .mym so try another and see if you get the same results or if it works.
     
  4. VGMStudios
    OP

    Newcomer VGMStudios Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi and thanks for the link and the help but it doesn't seem to work.

    this is what I am doing. I am using the Luigi Theme as my base. In it, it has a board.ash file that I am trying to customize. Now if the files are not the same size as the original files I get that corrupted error message.

    For example. I am trying to change "My-Letter-b.tpl". The original file is 28kb. The tpl that I create using TplMii from and PNG file make it 109KB. Everything else is the same size but this one file.

    I pack the board_arc_OUT folder using U8Tool.exe into an board.arc file (BTW the U8Tool.exe in that Portapack doesnt work, I keep getting a run time error - So I am using the one I downloaded a while back).

    I then rename the ARC file to board.ash.

    I proceed to highlight everything in the folder and Zip it using Power Archiver 2010 and change the ZIP to MYM.

    I then use MyMenu to create the CSM file by selecting the correct Base-v499.app file that I got from where you told me to get it from and the MYM file that I zipped.
    I them move the CSM file to my SD card and launch HBC and MyMenufy and load the CSM file. I reboot to the system menu and I get the error that my files are corrupted.

    Now if I change this ONE FILE back to the original everything is fine. It doesnt matter WHAT file I change. If its larger then the original I get this corrupted error message and I cant figure out why.

    So what am I doing wrong? Perhaps I can send you my theme files and you can take a look?

    Edit: Forgot to add. I tried compressing the board.ash file with yaz0enc and it made a 152kb file from the 1257KB file. I then packed it and loaded the CSM file only to ger a blank screen when the Wii reboots. What I did was launch the yaz0 program, selected the board.ash file and renamed it to something else as the output file.
    when it was done, i just del the original and renamed the new file to board.ash.

    VGM out...
     
  5. AetherMaster

    Member AetherMaster Aether

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    PM me your mym and the new image and I'll see if I can fix it. I'll also need to know your Wii's region and menu version.

    EDIT: Still send me them, but your problem might be U8Tool. You should be using U8it by Xuzz. Portapack has a GUI verison.
     

Share This Page