Wii Sports Resort with WiiKey?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by alucard77, Jun 26, 2009.

Jun 26, 2009
  1. alucard77
    OP

    Member alucard77 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    United States
    Hi All,

    Yes I have read and searched, by my question is unique and I didn't see an answer for this. So I need some confirmation.

    This is just for people with a WiiKey off of a DVD?

    Have you been able to get this game to boot? If so, can you please let me know the following:
    1- What version do you have 1.9G or S?
    2- What version is your Wii?
    3- Did you brick block?

    I have a new burner that I never used before, and my burn didn't work. It went to a black screen, which I know is a problem, but I want to see if the problem is my burn or the game itself.

    Thanks,
     
  2. Billabong1987

    Newcomer Billabong1987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Yeah same here. I am on 1.9s. It appeared fine on the channel but when it started it went to a black screen. My wii is on 4.0E and I did brickblock it. seems we have a problem. [​IMG]
     
  3. Billabong1987

    Newcomer Billabong1987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Sorry for the double post but it works if you install the homebrew channel and GeckoOS. It is a 5 minute job and works wonders. [​IMG]
     
  4. alucard77
    OP

    Member alucard77 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info on GeckoOS. I did read on that.

    However, I am more curious in knowing if my WiiKey is now useless. I mean, I don't want to have to softmod my already hardmodded Wii.

    At least I know it is not the burner.
     
  5. bytor

    Member bytor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your Wiikey isn't useless, the same thing happened to me with the Japanese Metroid Prime. Looks like it's an issue with some Japanese games, when Wii Sports Resort NTSC-U/PAL come out you shouldn't have a problem I think. [​IMG]
     
  6. scousethief

    Member scousethief GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How can your wiikey be useless if it allows the play of pretty much the entire catalogue of games ?

    wait for the proper region version and then try again, or god forbid buy it when it hits the shops.
     
  7. Billabong1987

    Newcomer Billabong1987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:

    Its not useless. In fact I would say it is a lot more relaible than a softmod.
     
  8. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I know, it's hard to find information for us old school folks that have a modchip in our Wii. I've switched over to USB loading for the convenience factor mostly, so sometimes I don't know if these kinds of problems are due to my custom system files related to that or not...

    Just FYI, I can't get WSR(J) to load using the normal disk channel on my YAOSM modchip Wii. There have been out of region games that won't work before, so this is nothing totally new. I get a black screen, or sometimes I get a garbled message (probably a poorly displayed Kanji or something). At any rate, it doesn't run like all my other backups, even the out of region ones.

    Apparently it's got to do with the region patching. The modchips only can do so much, and some softmod things patch region strings at a system level, not just a drive level. So it looks like for the next week it's gotta run through Gecko OS, but it's only for another week until the in-region game comes out. :-)
     
  9. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine on wiikey here, but because it's japanese it needs 'freeloader' or 'gecko-os' (note gecko-os is not a softmod it's just a region free app, a great app for hardmodded sytems)...

    heres my system spec... wii 3.2e, wiikey 1.9g, extra IOS's installed via wad-installer 37,38,53,*55 for game compatabilty... no cios's (softmods) installed whatsoever.

    So I would suggest trying 'freeloader' simplist method or better still install HBC which lets you run apps like wad-installer/manager, gecko-os etc etc.... note you may need to install extra IOS's and remember to brickblock the iso to so you don't run the japan update



    *edit... ios56 typo to ios55
     
  10. alucard77
    OP

    Member alucard77 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    United States
    Hey thanks for the information.

    I also use USB Loaders, so I got the game working. But it just got me perplexed why the burnt game would not work and the USB one would.

    I have a new rig with a new DVD Burner. So I wanted to make sure it worked fine.

    Problem was, I have the same issue with Conduit. I get a black screen when running from the burnt DVD, but not from the USBLoader.

    So its one of two things:
    - Burning issue
    - Need to install some new IOS

    By the way, does the 13a contain all the neccessary IOS? I thought it did, am I wrong on this? Do you need to install seperate IOS besides the ones in rev13a? Is there any place to read up more on this?
     
  11. timtlm

    Newcomer timtlm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine through the disc channel on my 4.0U wiikey 1.9s Brick Blocked and Regionfrii'd before burning. Your problem is that you either need to regionfrii, or you are missing an IOS required by the game. Updating to 4.0U using one of the guides here should give you the IOS you need, or you can install the IOS 38, 53, and 55 using wads. I'm pretty sure it requires IOS 55. Check your PM.
     
  12. alucard77
    OP

    Member alucard77 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    United States
    Any place to read up on the IOS files? I like learning this stuff, even though it is constantly changing.

    I thought that the Rev that were always released came bundled with the IOS, I guess I am wrong.
     
  13. sabatino

    Member sabatino GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Belgium
  14. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,917
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    1- What version do you have 1.9G or S? 1.9s
    2- What version is your Wii? 4.0
    3- Did you brick block? Yes, and RegionFrii

    The games works flawlessly for me.
     
  15. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    How did you guys get it to work on your WiiKeys? its like Impossible for me.

    I have a 4.1U with WiiKey v1 1.9s, I region friid AND brickblocked the ISO before burning with Nero at 4x. Im using Verbatim DVD-R. I've burned this ISO 2 times both at 4x on a Verbatim DVD-R. I'm burning once more with IMGBurn at 1x (but since the DVD-R don't support that, they automatically to 4x). I'll try again but i'm doing EVERYTHING you guys are doing, i don't get it.

    The only difference I see is that im at 4.1U, but that cant be it. I have no homebrew channel so no gecko os

    Update: the 1x with IMGBurn failed too

    ~ Jon
     
  16. rabapab23

    Newcomer rabapab23 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Have you been able to get this game to boot? If so, can you please let me know the following:
    1- What version do you have 1.9G or S? 1.9S
    2- What version is your Wii? 4.0U
    3- Did you brick block? Nope

    Works fine here!
     
  17. Bralaapje

    Newcomer Bralaapje Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had the same problem as other guys with a wiikey. Blackscreen when i run a backup of wii sports from the disc channel!!!
    But i solved it!!!!

    I have the following:

    1.Wiikey 1.9S
    2. Preloader 0.29
    3. 3.2E


    The problem was Preloader!!!!

    I had the following systemhacks enabled in Preloader:

    1. Force disc region-->> This causes the blackscreen!! If you disable it, wii sports resort will run!!
    2. IOS reloads--> This will cause #002 error. This does not work for usbloader, only for disc channel.

    So disable those 2 systemhacks in preloader and you can play the game!!!!
     
  18. lisa200

    Newcomer lisa200 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have wiikey 1.9g
    firmware 3.1E

    brickblocked - black screen

    wiiupdate remover - works flawlessly

    hope this helps some of you
     
  19. yen

    Newcomer yen Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    I have wiikey 2 v.1.3 installed.
    Wii with version 4.1E
    No softmod.

    I use verbatin dvd-r to burn ISO's but I can't get the Sports Resort to work. The dvd is recognised by the console but when I try to play the game, I get a black screen and the console freezes. I've tried with 3 different DVD's and the problem is always the same. The other games work fine.

    Any hint about this problem?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page