Wii Sports Resort (disable Wii Motion+ requirements)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wiiman123, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. wiiman123
    OP

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Purchased a used copy of Wii Sports Resort without the attachment.

    Is it possible to disable the Wii Motion Plus requirement in order to play Wii Sports Resort?
     


  2. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    no....
     
  3. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    double post
    srry
     
  4. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, I believe if we just disable the check of the motion plus.
    We can play it without it.

    (For example, see GH on DS [​IMG] though these hacks even include a different control patch/cheat/hack.)

    I have a motion plus and USB Gecko. So I'm gonna try for my self and see IF it is possible.
    If yes I'll just post it when this topic gets bumped or if a new topic like this gets up. [​IMG]

    I don't wanna screw Nintendo sell stuff. (Since the game probably already gets pirated to much, and there are by now more motion plus sold than all motion plus games together..)
     
  5. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    i dont tihnk thats gonna work cuz wehn ur playing the games it looks for wii motion + precision
     
  6. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Yea even if you could, it'd be worthless because the game is meant to DEMO motionplus's capabilities so you would pretty much get nothing out of it at all with a regular wiimote. Just buy motionplus.
     
  7. wiiman123
    OP

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ok thanks. Let me know if you guys figure out how to get by it. [​IMG]
     
  8. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If the motion plus actually adds motion... [​IMG]
     
  9. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    It
    Won't
    Effing
    Work.

    The MotionPlus is used everywhere in WSR. If somebody found a bypass, you would have extremely gimped controls.
    Just go get a MotionPlus. They're $25 CAD where I live.
     
  10. elfsander

    Member elfsander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ^ with him.

    Wii Motion+ is required to play the game the way it's intended to be played. Changing that will either make the game and your Wii crash, or just won't work at all.
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The whole point of WSR is the new controls. Own up and buy a WM+ or two. Frankly, I think it's worth it.
     
  12. smartybones

    Newcomer smartybones Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    just fess up... your a freetard,,,, you downloaded the iso on a torrent or somthing.... and dont wanna pay out to buy an add on...

    just buy the damn things.....
     
  13. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    impossible. just buy wm+ like everyone says. this question has been asked too many times.
     
  14. w_n_s

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    freetard, hehe, class. [​IMG]

    To the OP:

    Buy the motion plus - even if the game was programmed in such a way that the add-on only helped gameplay, then the game would be crap. The game will probably crash as the codes being fed from the WMP into the wii for positioning and accuracy etc... are probably required by the game code to accurately recreate motion onscreen and ingame, which a standard controller wouldn't be able to do.

    But you wouldn't know how good the game is cos you can't play it. [​IMG]
     
  15. bin01

    Member bin01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    Just go to settings and switch the "disable motion plus" option... done, you should now be able to play using only wiimote(sideways), wiimote + nunchuk and classic controller, i heard you can also use a GC controller but not sure about that
     
  16. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    piracy doesnt stop, pirate one from wal mart
     
  17. dkelley

    Newcomer dkelley Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry, but "shouldn't be hard" is completely incorrect, and you won't public it because that way you can claim you did it even though it's impossible.

    Speaking as a software developer (formerly with EA), the wii motionplus is a unique set of parameters that are checked in thousands of places within the Sports Resort game or any game that is using motion+. You can't "disable" the code, that is like saying "can we disable the code that reads the nunchuck's control stick so I don't need to buy a nunchuck" LoL. you'd have to go through the source code (not a dump of the compiled binary which is all we have access to) and develop replacement routines that used some other input device instead. it's a complete redevelopment of the game's source code followed by a full compilation of that code into a new game. Not only is it impossible but it's completely pointless.

    the frickin motion+ is $24 cad at ebgames. I traded in some games I hated (some dumb superheroes game that some people like but I hate, that dumb EA game where you grab flies with chopsticks (hey I worked there and got it cheap LoL), and something like prostreet which I've played to death with zillions of cheats to actually make it fun) for it.

    Now my wife says she wants me to trade in more games to get another motion+ so we can sword fight each other LoL. So while sports island isn't really all that amazing a game compared to some vastly superior third party games (whoever says nintendo games are better than third party is ignorant), there are a few that are definitely worth playing especially in real time multiplayer I would think.

    So, I'll repeat this here as a summary:

    It's completely impossible to remove motion+ from sports island. it would require coding new control software into every single aspect of the game... and the control stuff is a HUGE amount of the code in that game. What would you replace it with, wiispeak control LoL?

    Since you're obviously not a developer then I understand your belief that it would be simple. Please accept our explanations that it's not only not simple but actually impossible without being a developer at nintendo with access to that project and a lot of time on your hands :-)

    cheers,
    D
     
  18. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    I, an independent game developer, can only second what dkelley said: It's not possible.
    Wii Sports Resort has one of the biggest Wii binaries I've seen so far, and that's not without reason: The code necessary to read and interpret Wii MotionPlus data is rather big, and the entire game is built "around" that code. There is no way it could be replaced with code not requiring Wii MotionPlus.
     
  19. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, if one says it's possible, then it must be!
    I'll also try to disable the Nintendo DS Touchscreen to play Trauma Center, it will be totally awesome!




    Seriously now, why NOT buying the Wii Motion+? Are pirates that cheap? Even myself (who lives in Brazil where everything is about 3 times more expensive than the rest of the world in videogame terms) have two!
    People must remove the scorpions from their pockets sometimes...
     
  20. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like a risky place to keep scorpions :-)
    I agree so if you are gonna pirate the game you have just saved yourself $50USD more than enough for 2 M+s.
     

Share This Page