Wii Serial #'s working with Bootmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ecw, May 15, 2009.

May 15, 2009
  1. ecw
    OP

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a list (or does anyone know) at what sequence in the Wii serial #'s, Bootmii will only allow IOS install? I have a newer Wii and can only use the IOS BootMii. I am going to look around for a used Wii, but I would like to know what serial #'s work so I don't waste my money. TIA
     
  2. donnyp

    Newcomer donnyp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    theirs a program to already test for that, heres the link for it and instructions:

    Thanks to Shinigami Kiba for that information.

    That should help you out, also any wii that doesnt have lu64+ would also be a good direction to go.
     
  3. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Nope i donĀ“t think that there is such a list
     
  4. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    You can check the drive chip with this if you have the serial

    http://www.wiidrives.com/list
     
  5. ineedhelpbad

    Newcomer ineedhelpbad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Chicago IL USA
    Country:
    United States
    Mine is LU 58 and can only install as ios (f01e)
     
  6. ecw
    OP

    Member ecw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks for the tips guys. I already have those programs but they don't helpm if I am looking at a used Wii at a pawn shop or yard sale. That's why I asked about the serials. So far, thanks to ineedhelpbad, I know it has to be earlier than LU58. Anyone else know of an earlier version that works/don't work with Bootmii?
     
  7. wiiztec

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    I have an LU35 and it can't install bootmii to boot2

    My older Wii is an LU51 and can install bootmii to boot2

    I don't think the serial numbers were always sequential
     
  8. Praxis

    Member Praxis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United States
    I have a LU59, I'll check later if the test works.
     
  9. kyle007

    Member kyle007 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    guys the first 4 digits mean s#*t i have 2 lu34 wii's bootmii can only install on boot2 on ONE of the wii's so yeah the first four digits mean nothing it installed perfect on my lu2443 wii it did install just fine on my lu3454 wii but on my lu3492 it could NOT install as boot2 so yeah stop posting the first 4 digits and saying it should work on em cause its not guaranteed just like not ALL lu64's are non-downgradable
     
  10. FOUNTAINEER

    Newcomer FOUNTAINEER Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    i got my wii replaced in april of 2007. Does that guarantee that bootmii will install into boot2?
     
  11. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    More than likely as the only started coming out late last year.
    Got mine October last and boot2 is a no go.
     
  12. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    probably, because i have bought my wii in the summer vacation in 2008, with LEH18, and i have bootmii installed on boot2...
     

Share This Page