1. SocialPermaDeath

OP SocialPermaDeath Newbie
    Newcomer

United States
    Hey, so I'm a repair technician and we got a Wii in today with "disk drive issues." It can only sometimes read the kinda scuffed up disks the client dropped off with it so we tried a more pristine disk that we had lying around. It was able to read the disk just fine but once I clicked start the Wii reset itself to the home menu. I've seen this problem happening before but only with hacked Wiis that have had IOS files deleted and I don't see any homebrew channels on this one so I'm guessing it hasn't been tampered with. Is there a chance it's still a disk drive failure? We've done disk drive replacements before but they don't usually act like this.

2. KleinesSinchen

KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina

Germany
    Not having the HB Channel doesn't mean it has not been modified. So many people try something out and randomly start deleting things, use factory reset ("Format System Memory") hoping it will magically undo any modification or even damage and end up with barely usable devices.

I've no idea what hardware problem could cause the described symptoms. I've seen (or better heard) act a Wii pretty mad when there was some garbage inside the drive but it went to the infamous non-helpful "An error has occurred"-screen.

To see if cIOS are installed (or some IOS missing) you could run Syscheck.

If you're a repair technician and used to swapping drives in Wii consoles just pop in another, known good, drive and see if the problem persists.

Good luck!

alexander1970 and IC_ like this.
  3. SocialPermaDeath

Newcomer

United States