wii plays backups but not originals

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by steplay29, Sep 5, 2010.

Sep 5, 2010
  1. steplay29
    OP

    Newcomer steplay29 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    belfast
    Country:
    Ireland
    hi all,

    friend dropped a wii around to me tonite to have a look at as he says it is not playing originals.he got it softmodded a year ago and has cios rev 17 installed and neo gamma r8 he thinks.

    problem is he was given the last airbender (original)as a present,puts it in shows up in disc channel but when he goes to play it screen just stays black.he told me he can play a backup of metroid other m through neogamma no problem at all,so does anyone have a clue as to why it will not play the original last airbender?have not had a chance to test any other originals yet.

    his system set up in 3.2e.he might have starfall installed have to check that first.
     
  2. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    Steplay29, You missed syscheck report in Your post.
     
  3. PeregrinFig

    Member PeregrinFig A miserable little pile of secrets

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    My best guess is that maybe, it being a newer game, it needs an IOS to run that his Wii doesn't have installed (which isn't required for Other M). If it is a problem where only backups run, couldn't he just try ripping and burning it and see if the backup works?
     
  4. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd probably update whatever I could - NeoGamma, IOSes, even the System Menu (to 4.2 only, I don't know what the status on 4.3 is but I know it kills homebrew). Try launching the game via NeoGamma... maybe it'll work there instead of the disc channel.
     
  5. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    Not after HBC update.
     
  6. steplay29
    OP

    Newcomer steplay29 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    belfast
    Country:
    Ireland
    my god you guys are fast at replying,thanks lol.have updated my own system to 4.3e using the safe upgrade program and i can play anything at all.was just wondering if i upgraded his system to either 4.2e or 4.3e would that install the correct ios's or would i still have to install the corrct ios's to run the game.when he inserts the last airbender into the wii it does not ask for a update so i guess he has starfall installed.
     

Share This Page