Wii NOT reading ALL discs.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ChokeD, Jun 27, 2010.

Jun 27, 2010

Wii NOT reading ALL discs. by ChokeD at 10:22 PM (1,492 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. ChokeD
    OP

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    Trying to make this a fun thread:

    Ok, I got several Wii's, but I use 1 primarily to test all kinds of apps and other things on. I just backed up my retail disc of smg2 and went to try it and the channel in the menu showed up and when I hit start it gave me a "disc could not be read" error.

    I then thought, hmm, maybe a bad dump or something. So I tried a different backup of a different game and it worked, so I made another dump of smg2 with a different app and it would not even display it in the system channel menu. I put the first backup that HAD displayed back in to see if it would display and it didn't. I thought ok, test the other backups as before and now they don't work.

    As a matter of a fact ALL MY WII GAMES WILL NOT WORK NOW(ORIGINALS AND BACKUPS). So let me give you some background on this Wii.

    Launch Wii
    WiiKey 1 (original no clone)
    Switch put in for Dual Layer support when there was none.(turns off the power of the chip and leaves the Wii fully functional)
    then 3.2U updated (wanin)
    replace shell with the Black Knight(so now it's a black Wii)(been that way for prolly 3 years or better)
    bootmii
    preloader
    priiloader
    then 4.2U updated (wanin)
    I've tested all versions of cIOSCORP(DarkCORP also)
    I've tested MMM and SciiFii
    I've changed the Menu a thousand times messing around wadder.net
    I've tested more apps than you could ever imagine on this thing.
    I used it for the primary source of copying my old backups to USB through USBLoader GX. (quite a few)(probably to many)(probably what the problem is) [​IMG]

    I have been VERY hard on this Wii, I've upgraded and downgraded several times, I've installed and uninstalled SEVERAL cIOS and IOS There isn't really a whole lot this thing hasn't seen or done.

    I love my little tester Wii. [​IMG]

    I think myself that it's just tired and want's to pass over to the big gaming room in the sky, but I'm not ready for it to go yet. [​IMG]

    I have cleaned it out a billion times and once again last night I cleaned it out after a bunch of testing and It is now once again on 3.2U which is just a preference of mine. (what menu version all my custom menus I made are at)

    My questions are before I open it up: (be nice when answering please [​IMG] )

    1.) any ios or cios that could be affecting it?

    2.) who else here besides me thinks it is the laser?

    3.) anyone suggest a good place for a replacement laser if it isn't just dirt on the lens?

    4.) how many people love their Wii like I do? [​IMG]

    5.) what would you do?

    No matter what I can still run usb and all that but that's not the point, dad burn thins been good to me, I just wanna give a little back to it by fixin er up.
     
  2. Anti

    Member Anti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    This also happenned to me. I was playing around and trying to softmod the thing, but it just dies on me. I ended up using an old NAND backup and that restored it.

    So do that.

    If you can't, i'm sorry i can't help you any further.
     
  3. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    sucks man! ...my SD slot is shitty on my trusty old wii...bootmii can read and write to the SD card, but the wii menu and everything else can't, I know it's not the cards i use cuz i've tried atleast 20-30 different ones and they all do the same shit!...All in all, broken wii or working wii..gotta love the damn thing!
     
  4. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I would say highly likely its the lens, no reason for it to be IOS related as that would typically give a black screen. As you want to squeeze some more life out of it and its your "test" Wii plus you enjoy tinkering, why not have a fiddle with the pots (especially if you have an ohmmeter).
     
  5. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Or if you narrow it down to being a hardware issue, you can always just replace the drive
     
  6. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Oh and you can buy the replacement laser module at dealextreme for a shade over 16 USD.
     
  7. ChokeD
    OP

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the replies, I've been messing about now for a couple hours and found a problem with my ios so i tried to restore with bootmii as suggested and I got it to finally read my originals again but no backups. Then I ran syscheck on 2 Wii's after fiddling some more and found some differences between 2 Wii's (1 works completely, other test Wii don't). Both on 3.2U and test is still having the backup issues. I think I have narrowed it down to an IOS problem and I'm going to try dumping the specific IOS in to wads from the working Wii and install them on the Test Wii to see what I can come up with.

    I'll report more back tomorrow.
     
  8. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i had this happen to me before. the wii had official 4.2 and it would not read any discs. i used dopmii to install 3.2 and its IOS and the wii read games. then installed 4.2 system menu & its IOS again and it wouldnt read games.

    i never found out what caused the issue, but i just restored a older nand dump to fix it.
     
  9. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States

    hmmm, that's when my sd slot took a shit, was when I updated to 4.2...
     
  10. ChokeD
    OP

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    I thought I'd drop in real quick and leave a note:

    This seems to be my exact problem, somewhere in the midst of updating from 3.2U to 4.2U I gained something that did not agree with the drive AT ALL. Very crazy cause I know I had updated it before and it seemed to work fine. This time it did not. I'll be comparing my syscheck.csv's closer tomorrow to see if I can find out more.
     
  11. ChokeD
    OP

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    Recently I updated to 4.3U from 3.2U to do some testing and had the same problem again. Here are some vids showing what the changes were to the ios and what they were before the update. I wasn't thinking this was going to happen again so I didn't keep the syscheck.csv's.

    I am once again back on 3.2U from a bootmii restore and my SSBB original is working fine but would not work on the updated 4.3U.

    Any ideas ???

    3.2U
    [​IMG]

    4.3U
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page