Wii Mods will need an "on/off" switch?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Farami9, Apr 15, 2007.

Apr 15, 2007
  1. Farami9
    OP

    Member Farami9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    I think they will as Nintendo may be able to detect the mod like (Xbox), your thoughts. I mean could future wii updates brick wii systems that have a Mod.....
     
  2. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone's speculation is as good as yours... as in not very useful.
     
  3. craig588

    Newcomer craig588 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    The Xbox updates havn't bricked modded systems, they just make attempts to break mod chips.
     
  4. Farami9
    OP

    Member Farami9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Wait craig588, do you mean that Xbox updates can disable mods?

    Well, I mean don't you think Nintendo will prevent (modded wiis) from playing online.

    Thats the only thing stopping me from getting a Wiikey/Mod.
     
  5. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Xbox modchips ran an illegal bios that could be detected. The wii modchips are drive mod chips and don't run an illegal bios. They are hard if not impossible to detect.
     
  6. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yep, totally true.

    However I believe if you enable region override (wiikey) there is a faint possibility Nintendo can detect the chip, but if you disable it they can't detect the chip at all. That's why you have the option to turn it on/off.
     
  7. Farami9
    OP

    Member Farami9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    sorry how would disabling region override (wiikey) make the chip undetectable?
     
  8. dirtycarrot

    Newcomer dirtycarrot Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    Xbox's were detectable for two reasons - the bios was different, and the hard drive was usually different, hence the need for the switch.
    The wii mod cannot be detected. Advanced region free will be nothing more than more handshake faking between the dvd drive and the main cpu.
     
  9. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats why i love my cyclowiz [​IMG] I can disable it if i feel the need to
     
  10. Farami9
    OP

    Member Farami9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Can't you do the same for wiikey?
     
  11. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you change the xbox harddrive once you have been on live, that gets you banned. If you have changed the drive and never been on live, when you use xbox live you won't get banned. When you log onto live for the first it takes your harddrive serial or something like that. When you go on live again with a different harddrive and the serial doesn't match you get banned. One way of getting round this and getting round a ban is to fit new eeproms.
     
  12. ps2.au

    Member ps2.au Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Australia
    i don;t play online anyway
     
  13. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Any modchip can have an on/off switch...simply place a switch between the ground wires and you have a switch.
     
  14. pikachucrackpipe

    Member pikachucrackpipe President

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    no they dont
    if you play a unpatched game on a 1st gen mod chip and the updater was initialized, it would overwrite whatever dashboard you had installed with the ms one.
     
  15. throwingks

    Newcomer throwingks Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    These are different mods.
    Mod-chips for the Xbox motherboard are what you are all talking about.

    There is also a DVD firmware mod for Xbox you can play on Live with, undetected.
    In theory the Wii mods out now, DriveChip mods, would be just as difficult to detect as the DVD firmware flash mod on Xbox.
     
  16. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    It's a bit better if you place the switch along the Vcc line.
     

Share This Page