wii modding

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by philipcooper, Mar 18, 2007.

Mar 18, 2007

wii modding by philipcooper at 2:57 PM (1,707 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i just got a new nintendo wii but i have read you cant get it chipped now because nintendo have changed the console so you cant. Is this true?
     


  2. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry man, you're gunna have to rephrase your sentence so its readable and understandable. Then you'll probally get an answer [​IMG]
     
  3. SilverAnalyst

    Newcomer SilverAnalyst Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He's probably refering to the emergence of the D2B chipset. This has been resolved in all wii modchips I believe.
     
  4. moshii

    Member moshii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    函館
    Country:
    Japan
    We haven't seen a whole crap load of posts about it so I wouldn't worry. Did a brandnew Spanish Wii yesterday.

    I'd worry when developers start inserting chip detection code into their games, we can crack signed games but can't resign them... so we're fucked. haha.
     
  5. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so every wii can be done?
     
  6. moshii

    Member moshii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    函館
    Country:
    Japan
    What I'm saying is, "if there was a wii that couldn't be modded you'd know about it by now". If you want to be sure look for older stock as I do with PSP's.
     
  7. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    bought it already yesterday.is there any chips were you dont have to open the wii up
     
  8. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope, unfortunatly they all need to be soldered.
     
  9. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just a few questions to put my mind at rest.


    so there isnt a wii that cant get chipped what we know of.
    are they easy to do if i have never done it b4
    .what is the best chip?
     
  10. megatron_lives

    Member megatron_lives GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The chips are easy enough to install even if your soldering skills aren't fantastic. There are two methods. Quick solder and solder the connection points from the chip to the wii point using wires. There are considered pros and cons for both. Quick solder is easier as you line up the chip with the points on the wii, a blob of solder and your done. Only problem is if you want to remove it in the future - easer to remove wires between chip and wii.

    If you interested in quicker solder, most people seem to be going for Wiikey as the mod chip. Has partial region free playback (more i understand if using NTSC console). If you'd rather use the wire method to instal the chip, check out the Wiinja deluxe. Also has region free playback.

    I'd suggest doing your homework on both wiikey and wiinja (and other chips) to see from peoples personal experiences, which would be best for you.

    Personally, i've got Wiinja deluxe - so far good updates, wires to install and good forum on website.

    I hope that helps

    Happy modding

    Peace
     
  11. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    imho wiikey ftw for the best chip. good luck on your install though, you don't exactly sound like you have much soldering experience. start practicing now to be ready.
     
  12. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have no soldering skills but am quite confident to do it seen how it done years ago on the ps1

    how do you find out where yo solder the chip to can you get diagrams?

    how does The Cyclowiz work without no soldering i thought you needed to solder them all
     
  13. megatron_lives

    Member megatron_lives GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. moshii

    Member moshii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    函館
    Country:
    Japan
    I wonder why there are no solderless kits.. wouldn't be so hard to do. [​IMG]
     
  15. WII20

    Newcomer WII20 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Don't get the cyclowiz man, its upgradablity is questionable. Go with the Wiikey; shouldn't be too hard to solder. Try practicing on an old cd player or cassette player before. There's of course the option to go with open source chips which requires more soldering and doesn't have all the features (eventually they will) that a commercial chip has , although its more fun and in the end will have continuous support from the community.
     
  16. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that open source chipping will be harder then i suppose.?
    just want the easiest best way
     
  17. plexo

    Member plexo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    open source 1's are sometimes difficult to program etc if u duno how, i sell the wiifrees preprogrammed etc if u want i can sell ya 1 comes with a socket, wire and solder
     
  18. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what the socket?
    how much you for mate


    at the beginning of this post i asked could every wii be chipped and got told yes but it says in http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=44099 topic it might not be compatible does that mean that chip so you have to get a different one if that is the case/
     
  19. plexo

    Member plexo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a socket is a thing you plug the chip into, if you want to install different chips u just place them into the socket u dont need to solder them or anything

    i charge £30 with wiifree
    £25 with your choice of chip (chip not included)
    £50 with wiikey

    all the modchips are compatible with ALL Wii's

    to be honest i recommend wiifree or wiikey, wiikey is upgradable which is a + and it also has the built in region free (partial)

    wiifree lets ya play copies perfectly no problems and its cheap, i also sell them for £6 with wire, solder and a socket

    only thing is i am uk and your usa (from your profile) i wouldnt be able to mod your wii as i wll probably get import tax wen it arrives

    but i would be happy to post a wiifree to you if you like
     
  20. philipcooper
    OP

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i am uk liverpool

    where you say you put the chip in the socket and dont have to solder then do you mean the socket and you still have to solder the chip?
     

Share This Page