Wii Message Board freezes my Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wiiluver135, Oct 7, 2008.

Oct 7, 2008
  1. wiiluver135
    OP

    Member wiiluver135 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all I'm new here...but that's not the subject here my problem: ever since my mom sent me a "BIG" e-mail message from her Yahoo Mail every time I try to read it my Wii'll freeze, here's a video so you can see my delima:



    yeah, somebody sent me a comment saying that SaveMii could well...save me, but the application he suggested only deletes corrupt "banners" not Wii-mail Messages, so if anyone could help me with some sort of homebrew application that deletes wii messages that would be greatly appreciated! You'll probably become my best friend after this...lulz
     
  2. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cant you just delete it before trying to read it, if u know it has problems with your wii.
    never came across this before,
    why didnt she jsut use your normal email lol.

    Mams lol
    blimey mines only learnt how to txt few years ago.
     
  3. wiiluver135
    OP

    Member wiiluver135 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    no I can't look at the video...the wii will freeze when trying to open the message
     
  4. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    try:
    -opening with Internet turned off
    -installing opera browser if you haven't
    -format :-(
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    your best shoot is to format your Wii, like noobwarrior7 says, sorry mate...!!!
     
  6. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah back up your saves using GeckoOS and format your Wii. That should be your best bet...
     
  7. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    This happened to me a while back, except my wii would freeze at the menu as soon as I turned it on (it was trying to recive the message). I had to boot into maintenance mode to reformat it! I found out that the message was from nintendo... [​IMG] /facepalm
     
  8. Linuks

    Member Linuks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    I had the same problem...
    You can formate with maintenance mode.
    I had also delete the mail (do it fastly) but it didn't fix the problem [​IMG]
     
  9. tona

    Newcomer tona Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Norway
    You could certainly just delete the offending files. But given an application which lets you delete random files, there's also a lot of bad stuff you could delete.

    But, yeah. The System Menu "Format" option should work.
     
  10. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ha, this is has just happened to me. The only thing you can do is format. Boot in Maintenance Mode and back up everything,
     
  11. wiiluver135
    OP

    Member wiiluver135 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    ok so everyone is all like "f0rmAt ur wii dUde thAt'll s0lve dA pr0blemz" ok but one question...how do I copy over my "My Pkemon Ranch" data and other Wiiware & Virtual Console games?!??! is there an application hat can allow me to do that?
    BTW thnx 4 ur help though guys!
     
  12. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    use geckoOS 1.07b with the no-copy flag off through the "rebooter" then everything is copyable
     
  13. wiiluver135
    OP

    Member wiiluver135 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    It worked, thanks alot man, but I had to re-add all my buddies on my message board...
     
  14. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    *cough*
     
  15. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    aye its a nice utility Gecko0S like [​IMG]
     
  16. wiiluver135
    OP

    Member wiiluver135 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    hellz yah! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page