Hacking Wii Menu 4.0: Loophole May Have Been Found For Twilight Hack

Status
Not open for further replies.

MissingNo._

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
756
Trophies
0
XP
295
Country
United States
I may have found a loophole to Wii Menu 4.0 to using the Twilight Hack. But It's a long story...

When I had a younger version of the Wii Menu I used the American Twilight Hack to install the Homebrew Channel on my Wiis. Then I updated to Wii Menu 4.0. Everything seems set up right? WRONG. I had forgotten to install DVDx, and both of my Wiis have Wii Menu 4.0. So I can't downgrade or install the Twilight Hack. So then It occurs to me, "My friend has a Wii Menu 3.4; why don't I just use his Wii?" But It wouldn't install DVDx on mine. So then I thought, "If I got the Homebrew Channel on his Wii I could after install the Twilight Hack, then use Savegame Extractor on his Homebrew Channel, then use Savegame Installer on mine to get the Twilight Hack on it, then install DVDx." So it may work or not, but I'd have to wait until Friday to get to use his Wii. So if any of you will try it and tell me how it goes, post it on here. Thanks in advance.

(This is just a theory. This has not been tested yet.)

If this works I might be a loophole hero!!!!
yaynds.gif
 

Mark McDonut

GBATemp's Resident Ghostbuster
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
837
Trophies
0
XP
1,473
Country
United States
dvdx is a channel and is different than the twilight hack and how it is blocked. dvdx installs as a hidden channel but the twilight hack is actually looked for and detected at boot and removed by menu 4.0, at least the way I understood the explanation of how it works. You can install it just fine, the problem is the system will delete it when it starts up.

Thanks for posting though, if it would have worked it could have been badass but unfortunately nintendo is one step ahead with this one.
 

Mark McDonut

GBATemp's Resident Ghostbuster
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
837
Trophies
0
XP
1,473
Country
United States
purechaos996 said:
Interesting theroy but correct me if im wrong but isnt the SaveGame extractor and Installer for Gamecube Saves?

nah, waninkoko made one that's on github that works like wad manager but for wii save data, came out last week and works great.
 

purechaos996

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
795
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Connecticut
XP
1,554
Country
United States
Mark McDonut said:
purechaos996 said:
Interesting theroy but correct me if im wrong but isnt the SaveGame extractor and Installer for Gamecube Saves?

nah, waninkoko made one that's on github that works like wad manager but for wii save data, came out last week and works great.

hmm Must have missed that one sorry then.
 

Mark McDonut

GBATemp's Resident Ghostbuster
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
837
Trophies
0
XP
1,473
Country
United States

purechaos996

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
795
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Connecticut
XP
1,554
Country
United States
Mark McDonut said:
purechaos996 said:
Mark McDonut said:
purechaos996 said:
Interesting theroy but correct me if im wrong but isnt the SaveGame extractor and Installer for Gamecube Saves?

nah, waninkoko made one that's on github that works like wad manager but for wii save data, came out last week and works great.

hmm Must have missed that one sorry then.
no prob, here ya go

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=152407

Ohh ok yeah ive seen that before I wonder why I didnt download it hmm Oh well. Thanks for that
 

FenrirWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
4,347
Trophies
0
Location
Sandy, UT
XP
601
Country
United States
Umm, if you have the ablity to run the savegame installer on your wii you have the HBC and therefore can both downgrade and install DVDX even on 4.0
 

Wiinie

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
30
Country
United States
Wait a minute. If you have the homebrew channel. all you need to do is downgrade to 3.2 (for 2.0 usb speed dvdx set up) or 3.4 for dvdx regular. No need to redo the twilight hack if you already have the homebrew channel. Plus savegame installer wont work without homebrew channel. So in esscence this is a pointless loop hole (if any).




Don't mean to come off as rude, but this is a pointless loophole. Just downgrade.
 

OSW

Wii King
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
4,790
Trophies
0
XP
451
Country
Yeah.... pretty much, if you have homebrew channel what is the need for twilight hack?

Twilight hack doesnt matter, ability to downgrade or install trucha signed content does matter.

Closed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Searinox tempBOT:
    Searinox has left the room.
  • Costello @ Costello:
    filthy europeans
  • Costello @ Costello:
    mighty asians
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Recovering lost partitions sucks ass
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Attempting to recover a 2tb worth of movies and this 320 weirdly won't initialize
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    huraay for keeping backups
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    huraay for that backup drive being the issue back up a back up of a
    back ups :teach:
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400