Wii maintenance mode

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by auyongtc, Nov 7, 2007.

Nov 7, 2007

Wii maintenance mode by auyongtc at 12:47 AM (11,786 Views / 0 Likes) 56 replies

  1. auyongtc
    OP

    Newcomer auyongtc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Saw this over at maxconsole forum: http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=87528

    While booting the Wii console, at the health warning screen, hold down - and + button while pressing A will get you into a so-called maintenance mode. Anyone have any luck digging further inside this mode? The topic starter there mentioned that if shop channel is launched from the maintenance mode, he portscanned a FTP server running on the Wii.
     


  2. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    It works for me, but whats the point? It function fine for me.
     
  3. modshroom128

    Member modshroom128 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,002
    Country:
    United States
    wow this fixed my half bricked pal wii.

    kick fucking ass.
     
  4. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Why is nobody excited at this?
     
  5. James B.

    Member James B. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    preeety cool. Any movement to like.. press all the buttons or something? I dunno. Its pretty cool. I have an unmodded wii, and a burnt copy of Scarface. But no dice. If it recognized it, I would have like died, but nah. The only annoying thing is, whenever you return from a channel, you have to turn off and turn back on to get back into maintenance mode. Its pretty cool, I must admit [​IMG].
     
  6. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Well, all of Nintendo's systems have had a start up button combo to do something like this...
     
  7. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    What are they for other systems?
     
  8. James B.

    Member James B. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    hmm. Why do you think you can't access the message board?
     
  9. auyongtc
    OP

    Newcomer auyongtc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    really?
     
  10. link459

    Member link459 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, this is a pretty big find.

    Hopefully it will lead us to some bigger things. [​IMG]
     
  11. sdoc96

    Member sdoc96 Creaky Old Stiff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Very good news indeed.

    What exactly was your bricked status before? (just for informations sake)
     
  12. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    How do I unbrick a wii? Do I just boot into the mode or do I have to do more?
     
  13. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    don't get your hopes up modshroom is the type of person who would lie about that.
     
  14. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I don't even know why he'd have a PAL Wii to begin with.
     
  15. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone found any useful purpose for doing this other than "OOOOOOO!!! I'm in a secret modez on mah WIIZ!"?
     
  16. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    I don't remember off the top of my head....if you held start when starting an N64, didn't you go to a memory managment screen? And the GBA had something about changing the color of the start text if you didn't have a game? I'm sure the others did too...
     
  17. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    If you hold down Z when starting up the gamecube it makes some squeaky noises and a boinging noise. Really kiddish
     
  18. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Try doing it with more controllers... Now that's a surprise, isn't it?
     
  19. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
  20. auyongtc
    OP

    Newcomer auyongtc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Oh noes, parents will start hating us for giving the kids chance to wipe off their usage records. *IF* the parents even care about that feature in the first place [​IMG]
     

Share This Page