Wii iso's with linux?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by 7llusion, Mar 27, 2007.

Mar 27, 2007

Wii iso's with linux? by 7llusion at 4:54 PM (1,065 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. 7llusion
    OP

    Member 7llusion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    France
    If I try to write Wii iso's with Linux it tell me that the image is not valid, but gc roms(homebrew : wiikey update) are correct images, what do I do to write them?
    Illusion
     
  2. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    how are you writing the images? i use growisofs with no problems. it could be that the images you have are scrambled. you'll need to use rawdump for windows (or wine, i think works) to unscramble them.
     
  3. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ...Or the linux version of unscrambler [​IMG] Why overcomplicate things?
     
  4. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    i can confirm the unscrambler works via wine, so does GCOS self boot
    as for the images, brasero, k3b, gnome baker will all handle them easily
     
  5. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    i didn't realize there was a linux unscrambler...i've yet to encounter a RAW image dump.
     
  6. 7llusion
    OP

    Member 7llusion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    France
    I have the iso's in .iso form and burn them just by right clicking the file and selecting burn...
    Also I haven't been able to install 1 program or driver(except the ati drivers but nothing changed...) with linux anyway, so I found a solution:
    Install XP and it worked, I won't try Linux again, unless if it becomes user-friendly.
    Illusion
     
  7. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    if linux was as "user-friendly" as windows, it wouldn't be any fun [​IMG]
     
  8. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Ubuntu is more user friendly than when I used Mandrake and Red Hat (when they still had those names).

    I can't see a reason to go back to windows full-time. If I need an app, there's wine... if that doesn't work, there's VMWare. If that doesn't work, I'm sure I can find at least 1 windows-based computer. If not, am I in the middle of the ocean?
     
  9. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    i switched completely to linux 6 months ago, and haven't looked back! i LOVE not having a virus or spyware scanner.
     
  10. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    @7llusion, it seems like your using gnome, the default disk burning utility sucks. Grab brasero or k3b they will easily do the job.As for installing programs, what distro are you using, they all have a package manager. If you tell me which one i can help you.

    And yes you do need to learn a little to use linux as a power user, but the amount of control you get is incredible.
     

Share This Page