Wii is not starting after update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by pven, Jun 28, 2009.

Jun 28, 2009

Wii is not starting after update by pven at 12:50 PM (5,247 Views / 0 Likes) 53 replies

  1. pven
    OP

    Newcomer pven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a Wiikey inside my Wii. I just inserted Ice-Age-3 and accidently approved to install an firmware-update (firmware was 3.2e). Guess what? After this the Wii is not starting anymore. I am able to turn it on by using the Wiimote, but all I get is a black screen.

    Is it bricked? Help me, please?
     


  2. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have preloader or bootmii installed?
     
  3. pven
    OP

    Newcomer pven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Not that I am aware of, although I had a tough time downgrading from 4.0 to 3.2.
     
  4. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    preloader is gone if he has change wii's firmware

    Was the DVD same region your wii?
    Did you interrupt the update process? (something stupid like power down)
    Maybe it's time to send it to mister N... [​IMG]
     
  5. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have a modchip you could have auto started a Game with a higher update to fix it (but im guessing ice age 3 contained the 4.0 update), i assume you downloaded a iso and burned it obviously it was from a different region (USA), if you have a game cube remote you could use savemiifrii but again it would have to be a higher firmware update from your region which isn't out yet [​IMG] so your only two options are
    1. send it to nintendo (they will charge you for it as you voided the warranty by using a mod chip [​IMG]
    2. wait a possibly very long time for nintendo to bring out a higher PAL firmware update then use savemiifrii to auto start the new game containing the update and install this will fix it.
     
  6. pven
    OP

    Newcomer pven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The update was not interrupted, it was finished. After it was finished the Wii should reboot automatically; it did shut down, but it did not start up.

    I have a Gamecube-remote, so I can try if savemiifrii will do anything. I really do not like the idea of waiting for a newer firmware. [​IMG]

    Sending it back to mister N does not sound like a good idea, since they will not like the modchip. [​IMG]

    Another nice problem: I only have Wavebird, looks like this is not going to work and I need to arrange a GBC-controler with a wire.
     
  7. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or if you haver a modchip installed, would pink fish not come in handy as long as savemiifrii works?
     
  8. pven
    OP

    Newcomer pven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What do you mean with 'pink fish'? [​IMG]

    Never mind: http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=110871

    But I guess my Wii should at least be able to start to use this?

    I leeched it, burned it but the Wii does not do anything when I start it with the pink fish in it. Looks like I must use a wired GBC to do something with this?
     
  9. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I think savemiifrii only work with wired pad, but not sure.
    And I really don't think Ice Age come with firmware 4.0, since no game have it at this time
     
  10. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know its a 600mb ISO, but did you burn it to CDR rather than DVDR? Also, I think you do need a wired pad and it has be plugged into GC port 4 from what I hear. If you manage to pull off Savemiifrii, then your firmware type should show up in the bottom right. At this point insert the disk. Ive not had any reason to try this but after doing some hunting around I believe it works. If it doens't work then apparently, you can insert a game with any update and it will restore your system to that firmware version. Feel free to correct me or take the piss if I'm worng lol. Just trying to help out.
     
  11. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    1. Open the game iso in wiiscrubber and find the system menu wad in the update partition (it should look like RVL-WiiSystemmenu-vXXX.wad) .
    If XXX there is below 385(3.4U) then you are lucky, it had possibly a 3.3 update. Obtain a game containing 3.4 update (indiana jones for example), and update using the game disc in the recovery menu.

    2. If indeed Ice age contained 3.4 update then you should wait for a game with a 4.0 update... Even wii sports resorts have 3.4 so that might take some time

    Regardless, still try updating using a game containing 3.4E update... since system menu version number for PAL is greater than NTSC-U counterpart you may still update using a 3.4E disc.... 386 for 3.4E and 385 for 3.4U... Not sure about this, please inform us if it succeeds.
     
  12. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would it be possible to replace a 3.4 update wad with a 4.0 wad, or is the game update wad different (hence the RVL suffix)? Just thinking outside the box a bit
     
  13. TCJJ

    Member TCJJ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I have never used a modchip and will avoid them for as long as I possibly can, especially for Wii because they are generally pointless. Of course, me saying this probably doesn't help, nor what I am about to say, because it's probably a simple idea that won't work, but would it be possible to just unsolder that hellish piece of hardware that is the modchip and put the Wii back to it's original state?
     
  14. pven
    OP

    Newcomer pven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It contains v386. I will look for IndianaJones and check what update is in there.

    I am still waiting for a wired Gamecube-controler, I have someone who has one, now we only have to meet.
     
  15. Scarfish

    Member Scarfish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a wireless Gamecube controller and can do the savemiifrii trick. With mine I didn't had to disassemble is since I could press all four directions. It took me a couple tries (syncing it etc) but since your waiting for the other controller play a bit with it.
     
  16. pven
    OP

    Newcomer pven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I will try. Thanks!

    I just tried at least 30 times with my Wavebird, but did not succeed in getting the savemiifrii-stuff.
     
  17. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    No way it could be v386, v386 version is for 3.4E...
    http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/System_Menu

    It should actually be v385 if it's indeed a NTSC-U game... Are you sure?
     
  18. pven
    OP

    Newcomer pven Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, I am really sure about this. I had the ISO on my disc and checked it with WiiScrubber.

    THen it looks like something else is wrong? [​IMG]
     
  19. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Correct, it doesn't help lol. If using pinkfish or the UUD's then a modchip will be required. Unless he can produce an orignal disk with the required update wad on it, then a modchip is his only solution if attempting savemiifrii. Also, why assume its a soldrered in hellish piece of equipment? It might be a solderless install.
     
  20. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    woops, dupe. my bad
     

Share This Page