Wii is bricked. buuuuuuuuut...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Paste, Sep 4, 2009.

Sep 4, 2009
  1. Paste
    OP

    Newcomer Paste Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    ...it doesn't match any of the diagnostics I've seen. When I turn my Wii on, simply nothing comes on screen. Not a black screen; nothing. It's almost as if my A/V cables were unplugged. The wii remote wouldn't recognize the wii, either.

    What happened was, I had just gotten Muramasa today, and there was a system update on the disc. I was a little worried but I remembered that the update for Madworld came with no problems, so I went ahead and updated. After the update, it went to a black screen, where it froze. I waited a good 2 minutes, and then just turned off my Wii. Then, when I try to turn it back on, nothing shows up. I've googled my problem and it seems a few people have gotten it before, but no one could supply a clear cut answer. What should I do? Nintendo said the repair would be free because it happened when I was trying to update, but I have the homebrew channel just chilling there on my menu, along with a few pirated VC and wiiware games. I would delete them, but I can't. Any ideas?

    I knew I should have just used GeckoOS. [​IMG]
     
  2. Nerdii

    Banned Nerdii Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    The Place? Perth... Warn: BIG.
    Country:
    Australia
    1. Get a SaveMii.
    2. Got preloader?
     
  3. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Still need a bit more info, preloader? Did you downgrade eg 4.0 -> 3.2 -> 3.4. The update thinks the ios to 3.4 is there, but when you update to 3.4 it leaves a 'stub' ios, so, when the update skips the system menu ios, it doesn't install it, therefore a brick. That's only if you downgraded then upgraded though... And the when the wii is fully bricked, it doesn't give a TV signal, so since it isn't I bet it's a full brick...
     
  4. Paste
    OP

    Newcomer Paste Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    1. That was my first idea, but none of the diagnostics on the site match with my problem. :/
    2. Nope.

    EDIT @ above post: yeah, I went from 3.2 > 4.0 > then back to 3.2 a couple months ago.


    So I guess it's a full brick then? Should I send it into nintendo? I found this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prlYThOyBXM) video where this guy sent his bricked wii in and they just sent him a new one.
     
  5. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Read my post above, did you upgrade then downgrade?
     
  6. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
  7. Paste
    OP

    Newcomer Paste Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
  8. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Yea 3.2 > 4.0 > 3.2 > 3.4 from disc = unrecoverable brick without boot2 version of bootmii. Send to Nintendo. I don't think they can even see anything on the Wii with that type of brick anyways.

    Also protip: NEVER DOWNGRADE A 4.0/4.1 SYSTEM AT ALL. Aside from possibly IOS15 with the Trucha Bug Restorer if need be.
     
  9. Paste
    OP

    Newcomer Paste Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I will. Thanks a bunch for all the help, guys. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page