Wii Homebrew + 1,200 Watt Portable Ganerator = Not Loading

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LightyKD, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if any of you guys had this problem but I just recently purchased a 1,200 watt portable ganerator (1000 watt continous) and so far everything on my Wii works well with the exception of a few things. I can access the homebrew channel but everytime I open GeeBox the system looses it's image (almost like a reset) forcing me to do a hard reset. The NES emulator won't even access my SD Card. and I have yet to try anything else. I'll give you guys more info as I go along but I just wanted to give everybody the heads up.
     


  2. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried it on a normal mains power supply?
     
  3. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I know that everything works under a normal power supply. That's a given. Its just that I recently returned to my apartment and with my lights "oficially" off I'm reduced to using my portable generator. i was just wondering if accessing the SD card pulls more energy than normal wii usage.
     
  4. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The difference, if any, would be tiny. The Wii uses at the very most 18w when running a game.
     
  5. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I also know that, which is the part that's weirding me out. You think that a 18 watt system and a tv that claims to only use 130 watts should not be much of an issue for a 1,200 watt generator. Even if the tv was between 300-500 watts (most charts claim that a color tv usually runs between that range), it should not be an issue, maybe I should try a different wire and see if that helps.
     
  6. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have a powerful computer, 'cause that may be draining the power? Though I highly doubt it still.
    Or are you using a laptop?
    Meh.
     
  7. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    What about the laptop/desktop computer you are using to type this?

    EDIT: Trolly beat me to it
    But if he doesn't use the computer while he playing?
     
  8. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could be because the generator isn't making "clean" electricity.

    A power conditioner between the generator and the Wii would probably help.
     
  9. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    note to self... don't go out and buy $800-$1000 generator that needs $4.00/gallon gasoline to play my Wii...



    GOT IT!!

    Thanks!
     
  10. ImpulsE69

    Newcomer ImpulsE69 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    The Pits Of Hades
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, it is possible it is not running close enough to 60hz. You have to be careful because generators can wreck your electronics if they run too far off of 60hz.
     
  11. hippyharry

    Member hippyharry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    BARGAIN! getting screwed over here for 109.9p a litre.

    No doubt, its more expensive down south in England....
     
  12. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    If p you mean pounds, how much is the p to the dollar? That's gotta suck though:

    216.98 USD? That can't be right, anyone have a official amount?
     
  13. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    UK£ 1.09900 = 2.1673379 U.S. dollars

    1 Litre = 3.785411784 Gallons.

    Basically, we pay $8.2 a Gallon.
     
  14. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    109.9 pence I would guess, meaning 1.09.9 pounds/liter....or something...
    But I get all of my UK knowledge from Top Gear
     
  15. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    delete
     
  16. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Don't you mean 3.8L = G?
     
  17. hippyharry

    Member hippyharry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, dont complain America about fuel costs until it reaches $8 a gallon, then you know how we feel!

    Anyway, should get back on topic now i think......that was my fault start chatting about Unleaded Petrol....
     
  18. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably, I should be asleep by now.

    On topic, the Wii's "power brick" converts input to 12V DC, so I can't see how a generator messes things up.
     
  19. hippyharry

    Member hippyharry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry to go off topic again.

    But 3.8 is rounded up from 3.78 litres in a gallon

    Amazing, i should of kept my mouth shut, but instead, we're chatting about Petrol prices and gallon conversions....in the Wii Hacking section....
     
  20. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I'm not done, [​IMG]
    Once we hit $8, you'll be even higher. [​IMG]
    NOW it's over.
     

Share This Page