Wii HDTV problem.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Adr990, Apr 18, 2011.

Apr 18, 2011

Wii HDTV problem. by Adr990 at 3:07 PM (2,183 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello everyone,

    I recently purchased a HDTV (200hz, FullHD, 32"). To be exact this one: http://www.lg.com/nl/tv-audio-video/televi...-tv-32LD750.jsp

    But now I put my Composite cable in my HD tv, I expected it to be at least without shielding screen noise kind of problems.
    Here are some pictures:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Tv is set on 480i 60hz, highest possible at the moment, I yet have to buy a Component cable or a HDMiKey device.

    The cable is official from Nintendo, so I don't think its a shielding problem.
    So my question is if this is normal for Compesite cabels on Wii, or that there is a actual problem.

    I will be buying a alternative to Composite anytime soon.. but for now, how to fix it?

    Thanks in advance,
    Adr990
     
  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,542
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    That's normal for 480i and the normal cables. I also have a 32'' TV and it was not different, now I have component cables and it's gone.
     
  3. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
  4. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Cool, it's even cheaper than DX. No need to buy a whole lot at once?

    But.. does it work with the USB Loader?
    I heard from many others that 3rd party component cables give noise at screen problems when using a HDD on the Wii.
     
  5. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,542
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    That's not true at all, where the hell have you heard that?
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Actually it is true. I have talked to many people who had that problem when using 3rd-party cables. Unless there is something wrong with the console itself, getting official Nintendo cables always fixes it.
     
  7. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have 3rd party component cables and I don't have any noise problems playing games from a hard drive.

    Maybe you were just talking to people who had shitty cables who only ever played games from a hard drive and didn't notice the noise on the menu.
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It's not true with all cables. Some 3rd-party cables work perfectly.
     
  9. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shitty cables.
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    That's my point. Most 3rd-party cables are crap. Some (like yours I guess) work fine. Would you mind giving me a link so I can bookmark it? Nintendo's cables work fine, but they are more expensive so an alternative would be nice.
     
  11. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    yea i can see crappy 3rd party cables having issues. But its safe to say that the cable from monoprice are redonkulously high quality considering their low cost. I bought a hdmi cable from them that was like $20 and it was similar to one of those ones you'd find for $100+ elsewhere.

    Edit: BTW if you follow my link they have user reviews of the product. (like newegg and other sites have) 97% user rated from 400+ ratings
     
  12. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    HDMI cables are digital, Einstein. The cheap shitty ones have the same picture quality as the overpriced ones.
     
  13. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    I never mentioned anything about digital, i was only stating that the website has quality cables for the price for "cheap" cables you could buy at walmart or radio shack.
     
  14. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the link, I bookmarked it. It will be nice suggesting this in the future. I don't like telling people they need to spend $30 on component cables or go back to composite when they already spent money on crappy ones.
     
  15. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,647
    Country:
    United States
    I have Monster cables to for a full HD tv and i have no problems at all. And i use a HDD.
     
  16. Adr990
    OP

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands

Share This Page