Hacking wii hacking?

DarkShinigami

#1 strongest Shinigami BANKAI
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
yeah im new to the wii hacking i dont care if getting a wii now is considered pointless or not

im getting a wii preowned at a local gamestore in a week and i have a few questions

#1: if i read right if it is on 4.2 i think i dont need any of the games to hack it i can install bannerbomb right? can i get the details? i wanna be 200% prepared for when i start working on hacking it.

#2: is there an equivlancy to a brick for the wii like there is for the psp?

#3: (i'll probably buy it anyway) but can i just burn metroid prime trilogy to a dvd and play like this i remember people having to use .dol's to boot the games was this ever fixed in an update?

#4: what wii's can play back up dvd's i know the launch whites can but what others can i also know the red wii's can't

#5: what games to you recommend for a new wii owner?

if i think of other things i'll ask then

also once i start working on my wii i will bring this thread up for help as i go

BenRK

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
ModMii will help you a lot with initial modding. Also, I think the Wiibrew wiki will help as well for general information.

Only white Wii's made some time before 2009 I believe can run backup disks. Not 100% sure on the date, but Wiibrew will help out with clarifying.

As for what games, Mario Kart Wii is a must.

machomuu

Drops by occasionally
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
1. No, you don't need a game for 4.2, just Bannerbomb
2. Yes, bricking Wiis can happen a number of ways
3. First off, the Trilogy is Dual Layer so you need a Dual Layer DVD. I don't know what the problems are though.
4. Black Wii's or Wiis with L64 in their serial nmbers can't play backup DVDs
5. Super Smash Bros Brawl,Phantom Brave: We Meet Again, Monster Hunter Tri, Super Mario Galaxy 1+2, The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess (I didn't like it, but you might), Bleach vs. Crusade (Best. Bleach game. Ever.).