Wii gave me a huge scare. Trying to figure out why

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rolandde, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. rolandde
    OP

    Newcomer rolandde Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    I have bootmii installed as boot2.

    Yesterday, I decided to advance in my Wii hacking abilities and install a WAD onto my NAND. I used WAD Manager 1.7 to install and uninstall Mario Kart 64 and everything went fine (no Banner Brick).

    However, when I turned on my Wii this morning, the light would turn green, but there would be no signal and the Wii was frozen. After a brief panic, I took out the SD card (on which bootmii and all my other apps are installed and which is always in my Wii) and the Wii booted up just fine. I then put the card in and loaded Homebrew and that loaded just fine.

    The first thing I did was to reinstall bootmii and, lo and behold, the Wii boots up just fine again (with the bootmii screen preceding the Wii menu).

    Does anybody know why this happened. Is it related to me installing a WAD or does bootmii just fuck up occasionally. Might it be my SD card dying?

    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you changed your screen resolution? bootmii will boot under ONE screen resolution that you set it in and can be changed with the bootmii config editor homebrew and also can change how long it stays on the bootmii splash screen

    seems you changed resolution and got a black screen (when actually bootmii was really showing but not on your screen)
    all you had to do was press reset (power button = next option, reset button = select option, eject = previous option... on bootmii)

    use the homebrew I mentioned and you can make it auto boot to HBC or Wii menu without bootmii showing at all and this will never happen again

    nothing wrong with your SD card so dont chuck it!
     
  3. rolandde
    OP

    Newcomer rolandde Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    That is the strange thing. I had it set to autoboot (5 sec). I did not change resolution (480p) in the Wii settings. I waited way more than 5 sec for the Wii startup screen to show.
     
  4. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Did you try turning off and on again? I've known bootmii to fail to start on a couple of occasions. Just powering down then up again sorts it.
     
  5. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe you should get the bootmii configurator and
    set that to boot bootmii in 480p AGAIN
    set autoboot to 3 seconds
    autoboot Wii menu

    try it. and let me know
     

Share This Page