Wii Fully Bricked With Only Black Screen!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by harmeet, Mar 7, 2010.

Mar 7, 2010
  1. harmeet
    OP

    Newcomer harmeet Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    My wii is fully bricked and only has a black screen (the firmware does NOT come up in the corner). when i turn it on i can put discs into the wii and eject them. but nothing else. im positive that i had starfall on it before it was bricked, and im pretty sure i had bootmii. not too sure about bootmii though. any type of solution would help. EXCEPT SENDING IT TO NINTENDO.
     
  2. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Does anything come up if you hold RESET while powering on?
     
  3. harmeet
    OP

    Newcomer harmeet Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    nope, i tried holding reset RIGHT after i press power. and ive tried holding it down then turning it on. nothing works.
     
  4. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds like Bootmii is out then... hm... and no discs load? I'm by no means an expert, but I believe you have a complete, irreparable brick.
     
  5. harmeet
    OP

    Newcomer harmeet Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    isnt there a way to like update it with an official game that has a higher firmware than the wii?
     
  6. harmeet
    OP

    Newcomer harmeet Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    and i just tried loading wii sports, and it sounds like its working fine in the wii but nothing comes up on the screen.
     
  7. harmeet
    OP

    Newcomer harmeet Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    whats savemii and how much does it cost? and do i need anything installed in my wii before it was bricked for savemii to work?
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    You need a working system menu, which your wii does not have. Savemii is useless here.

    Take a look at DeadlyFoez's topic, that covers pretty much everything you'd ever want to know about fixing a bricked wii.
     
  9. harmeet
    OP

    Newcomer harmeet Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    k thanks, but if i do call nintendo would they fix it for free if i tell them that the update bricked my wii?
     
  10. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well, you could give it a shot, but I'm not sure.

    They'll most likely just replace the whole thing, meaning you'll lose ALL of your channels and saves and anything else you have installed, and you'll get a Wii that has a fixed boot1 meaning no bootmii boot2, and a D3-2 drive, which can't physically read backups.

    If you do send it to Nintendo, I suggest you RIP OUT YOUR DVD DRIVE before sending it in, so that Nintendo won't replace it with an evil D3-2 drive. Of course this will void warranty, but it's worth it.

    Do you have a NAND backup made by bootmii?
    If so:
    Maybe ask DeadlyFoez about his services, instead of sending it in to Nintendo.
     
  11. harmeet
    OP

    Newcomer harmeet Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    How do i check if i have a NAND backup? And if i do rip out my dvd drive is there a tutorial on how to take it out and how to put it into another wii?
     
  12. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    To make a NAND backup, you make one yourself with bootmii, and it saves it to sd:/nand.bin.

    If you don't know about it, I'm assuming you never made a backup. That's what bootmii is for, even if it's only installed as IOS!

    Oh well...

    And here's a guide for disassembling the Wii:
    http://www.techsick.com/articles-disassemble-the-wii.shtml
    And just do the reverse to reassemble.

    You will need a tiny philips head screwdriver, and a tri-wing screwdriver. You can buy the tri-wing from modchip sites, and they're pretty cheap.

    I suggest diong this, as buying a new DVD drive is much more expensive.

    I'm not sure about what Nintendo's reaction will be when they don't see a DVD drive, but AFAIK they shouldn't whinge about it if you pay them the repair fee.

    You'll most likely get a complete replacement Wii, and it will have a fixed boot1, meaning bootmii can onbly be installed as IOS when you get it.
     

Share This Page