Wii Firmware Updates/New Modchip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Evilkoko, Aug 7, 2007.

Aug 7, 2007
  1. Evilkoko
    OP

    Member Evilkoko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Hi I recently had my wii chipped with the cyclowiz. I haven't recieved it back yet and when I sent it to my modder the firmware installed on it was around Decemebers. I was wondering when I get it back would updating the firmware be a problem with the cyclowiz chip in my wii? Thanks for your time!
     
  2. Fulcaire

    Member Fulcaire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. As of now though, Nintendo is going to release the System Update 3.3U.
    Don't update to that until others have tested.
    Rumor going around that it will brick your wii when updating to it.
    Btw, never update to another system's hardware.

    For example, if you have a US wii and you burned Mario Strikers the European Version. It will ask you to update to #.#E. It will then update your wii to the european update and things could go wrong from there.
     
  3. braulio09

    Newcomer braulio09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Mexico
    hmmm hopefully someone tests it with WiiKey soon

    that blue light is too attractive to ignore o.0
     
  4. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    stay away from the light! look away! in fact just turn the console off from the mains lol
     
  5. kingmathyou

    Newcomer kingmathyou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    What if I update to 3.0 and THEN install a wiikey. Will that be alright too?

    And I thought these chips were "stealth" and installed under the cd drive. How are they going to be found by Nintendo during updates?
     
  6. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Modchip first, then update or update then modchip, it doesn't matter.

    There has only been one total report of a modchip ceasing to function after updating. Nobody as far as I know has installed a modchip into a system already with 3.0 firmware, but there's no reason why it wouldn't work.

    There is NO 3.3 Wii System Firmware!!!!!
     
  7. kingmathyou

    Newcomer kingmathyou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Okay great. All that talk about 3.3 firmware was confusing me.
     
  8. HipN

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    Where the hell do people get 3.3 from? WE ARE AT 3.0

    Tree Point Ohhh!!
     
  9. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Silly GBAtemp and perpetual mySQL errors...
     
  10. pnut

    Member pnut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    United States
    It's because people updated and got the 3.0 firmware, but then tried to update again and got the Warning screen, so THOUGHT they got a new update that gave them the warning.
     

Share This Page