Wii Firmware Downgrader and Gamecube ISOs

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LightyKD, Jul 27, 2008.

Jul 27, 2008
  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Now that there's a firmware downgrader I realized something cool!

    1) We can now downgrade to the point that Action Replay works again

    2) The Action Replay way of loading Gamecube ISOs should work....hopefully.

    I know that there is a SD card to GameCUbe memory card file transfer/homebrew app that can be used from the HBC but my question is what exactly is the process of getting GCOS to load from GameCube card slot B from the AR disc. Basically I think we should use this thread to create a tutorial on how to downgrade your Wii and load GC ISOs from Action Replay. I'm willing to be the test dummy as long as somebody walks me through the process with the proper files and programs. Currently I have a Wii with 3.3 installed, the HBC, multiple SD cards (so that shouldn't be an issue). 2 GameCube memory cards (1, 128 MB and one 4MB/59block official card). The 59block card is empty and makes a great Slot B card, my 128MB card has my Gamecube game save files. I have Action Replay, the version that allows you to input your codes with the AR memory card that comes with it and I have the latest Waninkoko files. with the exception of the other files I may need I believe, tool wise I have everything I need to be our test dummy. well, someone get back at m and get get something started!!!

    Milk & Cookies,
    Lightning Kid =[​IMG]=
     
  2. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Gee, it's been nearly an hour and nobody is interested?!?!
     
  3. nyrol

    Newcomer nyrol Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Are you using the gamecube version of Action Replay?
     
  4. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    Not everyone sits here all day, just wait for a reply!
     
  5. Knocks

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Most people here have modchips, and because GameCube games can be played with any firmware, this doesn't have much effect.
     
  6. sanoblue

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    currently dont have a modchip but need a way to play imports ie Naruto 4
     
  7. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, which Action Replay are you talking about? The gamecube Action Replay? If so, how can you play Gamecube ISO's? Sorry, I've been looking for a way to play wii iso's and gamecube iso's without a modchip, explain how I can do this...thanks.
     
  8. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Gamecube action replay and yes there are tutorials on using the GC action replay to load GCOS and play your GameCube ISOs. The tutorials are a bit dated so my goal is to make a new tutorial using current homebrew developments like the SD to GameCube file transfer app and the wii Firmware Downgrader.
     
  9. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    OK I think I found a method but I need a way to put a .dol file on my GameCube memory card. once I find that i think the process will go something like this...

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    1) Install Custom IOS Rev 3

    2) Downgrade to a point where I can load my Action Replay

    3) Put "1 format.dol" on my memory card and run it from my Action Replay.

    4) Go to memory card menu and format GC card.

    Note from the read me file>>Reset your Gamecube and go into the GC bios save manager,
    it should say you need to format, so format it.> Run "2 install-ARcodes.dol", press X to write the file,
    and press R to select slot B. Run "3 install-level2.dol", press X to write the file,
    and press R to select slot B.


    7)Put "4 install-gcos15.dol" on my card and run that from Action Replay

    Note>> Run "4 install-gcos15.dol", press X to write the file,
    and press R to select slot B.> Put in Action Replay, reset, go to Start Game, open the lid,
    close the lid, and GCOS 1.5 should boot up. Enjoy!
     
  10. F0ur2o

    Member F0ur2o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
    Open lid...close lid...sounds like GC instructions.
     
  11. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    yes but i believe that you can simply press "A" to "open/close the lid". I just read that there's a dol to gci converter. The Gamecube saver that allows you to transfer files from the wii SD slot to your Gamecube memory card only works with .gci files. The major issue I'm running into here is this... "Is there a way to load .gci files in action replay the same way as .dol files?" if so than installing GCOS onto a memory cad shouldnt be an issue but if not then I need help loading a .dol file onto my memory card using the tools i have [​IMG]
     
  12. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I really need some help. Does anybody know it the GameCube action replay has the ability to load .gci files. If not , is there some type of loader (using the Homebrew Channel, my SD card and my GameCube memory card) I can use to load a .dol file to my cube memory card?
     
  13. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Does anybody have any verification on if the GameCube action replay or freeloader works after the firmware downgrade?
     
  14. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    According to Bushing, the downgrader does not downgrade the MIOS, which means that they still wouldn't work afterwards. The creator of that thread was still not able to get his GameCube Freeloader to work, even though he downgraded below the 3.0 firmware.

    Also, in case you didn't know, Datel did release a disc that works on all current firmwares. The disc acts as an Action Replay, Freeloader, and SD Media Launcher. However, the only problem is that you cannot enter codes for the Action Replay. I believe that they replace it for free if you send their previous version to them.
     
  15. putifreak

    Member putifreak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Germany

Share This Page