Wii Firmware 3.2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by imgod22222, Mar 2, 2008.

Mar 2, 2008

Wii Firmware 3.2 by imgod22222 at 4:02 PM (4,333 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. imgod22222
    OP

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any noticeable differences? Anyone got something resembling a changelog?
     
  2. Icarus

    Member Icarus fire walk with me

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Big Appleu
    Country:
    United States
    Original US SSBB Disc doesn't work after the update on a NTSC Wii with a Wiikey. My friend has a copy.
     
  3. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    That's crazily untrue. Why would Nintendo block their own game?
     
  4. Icarus

    Member Icarus fire walk with me

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Big Appleu
    Country:
    United States
    He has a Wiikey. I should've added that, sorry.
     
  5. James B.

    Member James B. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I hope this isn't true >.<

    Does it give a 001 error, or what?
     
  6. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The original Brawl not working with WiiKey has nothing to do with the Firmware 3.2, but with the Wiikey.
    The original Japanese Brawl didn't work either, but the backup did. The Wiikey somehow makes original Dual Layers discs not work.
     
  7. James B.

    Member James B. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Phew, thanks for clearing that up.

    I don't even have a modchip, lol, but I still get scared when stuff like this happens >.
     
  8. chrispinifer

    Newcomer chrispinifer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK.
    Country:
    Canada
    I fail to see how your friend has a copy of the US version of Super Smash Brothers considering that the game isn't released until March 9....
     
  9. ryuhosuke

    Newcomer ryuhosuke Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Canada
    well everyone in the us the stores already has advance copies
    where we are stuck here with out the unknown.
    I guess when it comes out we will know
     
  10. Puxel

    Member Puxel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    we already knew a legitimate NTSC-J copy of Super Smash Bros: Brawl would not play in a Japanese Wii, modded with a Wiikey 1.9g. From reading that we should have KNOWN it wouldn't work the other way around. I'm not sure if the Wiikey Team is still going to make an update, or not but it would be great if we did have that kind of security.
     
  11. Icarus

    Member Icarus fire walk with me

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Big Appleu
    Country:
    United States
    He didn't buy the game, it was a sample game that's being sent to editors and others. The game is finished but the release date is March 9.

    You think I'm lying? Just wait for a week and see yourself. The original game doesn't work with Wiikey modded Wii.
     
  12. PedroMB

    Newcomer PedroMB Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Brazil
    Did anyone with duplicated japanese channels have any problems???
     
  13. Rei

    Newcomer Rei Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    See for yourself, here's the proof & discussion:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=77056

    I did the 3.2U update, didn't notice anything at all... My Wii is same as always.
     
  14. NiGHtS

    Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DANG IT!

    The Japanese one worked on wiikey http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=74393

    ...[​IMG]
     
  15. Icarus

    Member Icarus fire walk with me

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Big Appleu
    Country:
    United States
    No, the original japanese copy also doesn't work. Only the backup copies work for now.
     
  16. NiGHtS

    Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ohhhh, gotcha! [​IMG]
     
  17. TehLink

    Member TehLink GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    So from all this, Wiikey is incompatible with the original copy. But all other chips such as Cyclowiz should be fine?
     
  18. NiGHtS

    Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh.

    Strangely enough wiikey runs the backup copy without a problem though.
     
  19. godsakes

    Member godsakes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    as i understand it the Wiikey would normally disable when it detects an orginal disc - this is true on orginal DVD5 discs but the WiiKey doesn't disable when it detects an orginal DVD9 disc (because the Wiikey team assumed all DVD9 discs would be used as multi backups). It's this which causes the problem
     
  20. merrickal

    Newcomer merrickal Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    is it not possible then to stop the wiikey from detecting dvd9's as multi-discs?
     

Share This Page