****Wii Firmware 3.0U****

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by HipN, Aug 7, 2007.

Aug 7, 2007

****Wii Firmware 3.0U**** by HipN at 6:52 AM (80,702 Views / 0 Likes) 597 replies

  1. HipN
    OP

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    - Clock Display
    - New colour scheme for the mail channel/message
    - Disk Channel - The Disk turns 180 left and right
    - Forcast Channel Icon (once you click on it)- Now displays the weather without having to enter the channel
    - Faster loading times when changing channels/leaving channels
    - Faster disk read speeds
    - Move contacts on Adress Book
    - News headlines in News Channel menu
    - Calendar no longer displays envelopes for the amount of time you played, only messages
    - Light bar goes on when disk is inserted or removed
    - Able to navigate Wii Settings with + and -
    - Scrolling through messages - New sound, and scrolling with B now displays an arrow similar to the Internet Channel

    Apparently, there is an update after the initial 3.0U that warns people about using modchips and that you will be disconnected from online and the Wii will brick.

    I am not taking that chance... so I will not update after 3.0U right now until it is confirmed false.
     


  2. Deadmon

    Member Deadmon A Temper

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    EDIT:

    Updated with Wiikey, works fine. 3.0U.

    The little features are nifty.
     
  3. HipN
    OP

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    Do backups still work? Imports?

    Could this be a lie that they will use to scare people like me?
     
  4. gov78

    Member gov78 Ha made you Look

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    - Faster loading times when changing channels/leaving channels
    - Faster disk read speeds

    isnt that all hardware based :S
     
  5. HipN
    OP

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada

    Yes, but the processing of the data is done by the software, I think.

    EDIT: I see you users in that list on the bottom. REPLY!
     
  6. shark1987

    Member shark1987 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Houston, TX/Austin, TX
    Country:
    United States
    someone be the guinea pig and see if it does in fact brick your wii lol...


    edit: and yes they probably just optimized the code for switching channels and the like
     
  7. HipN
    OP

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    Be brave, do it!

    Again, the initial 3.0U update does NOT have this message (I didn't get it). It's the update after it.

    I SEE YOU! COME OUT!
     
  8. shark1987

    Member shark1987 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Houston, TX/Austin, TX
    Country:
    United States
    ohhh, ok cool. i'm on vacation right now but hopefully they don't have the new update ready in the next two days haha

    edit: heh, i was just reading on the IGN boards, I'm guessing your the hipn on there too [​IMG], i've got the same username there too
     
  9. shadow_cruiser

    Newcomer shadow_cruiser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I can also confirm the initial 3.0U update didn't have this message on my NTSC 2.2U Modded with Wiikey.

    A do notice a big difference in disk loading times, at least like you said HipN, the processing of data.

    EDIT: Thanks warbird for the translation

    Translation of Image by Warbird:

    "Important: If the wii is modified, or using addons or software not supported by Nintendo, theres a posibility("fear") that the Wii will stop operating after the update. If you dont agree to updating, press the power button on the machine for more than 4 seconds [watermark covers some here, so im guessing a bit] and you will cut the power, and the update will be cancelled.
    PS: Its japanese, not chinese. Watermark is in chinese it seems tho."


    [​IMG]
     
  10. HipN
    OP

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada

    Is that yours? Why is it in Chinese? Or Japanese? Sorry, I don't know.
     
  11. KakTheInfected

    Newcomer KakTheInfected Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Well I'd test the second download if I could get it to...download. Maybe it's noticing something and cancelling the download?
     
  12. Pigwooly

    Member Pigwooly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    No, I have an unmoded wii and it won't download. I'm guessing there servers are just swamped.
     
  13. HipN
    OP

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    LRUKERS! MAN UP AND REPLY!
     
  14. shadow_cruiser

    Newcomer shadow_cruiser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
  15. HopOnRocks

    Newcomer HopOnRocks Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Canada
    so how many updates are there exactly? What numver does it bring the console up to? Im on my wii now and Im kinda scared to update because I have a wiikey installed
     
  16. gEist

    Member gEist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Germany
    europe update also? i need to switch the wii on ;>
    then i wil update [​IMG]
     
  17. shadow_cruiser

    Newcomer shadow_cruiser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    There's one update which brings the number to 3.0U. After this initial update, you can click update again which will bring up the "modded console warning screen". I didn't click it yet once the brick has been confirmed.
     
  18. Entwinedwithsick

    Newcomer Entwinedwithsick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Just updated to 3.0U..no warning on initial update, I didn't bother to check again. You guys worry entirely too much [​IMG] I bet every system gets the message and its just a scare tactic.
     
  19. ascian

    Newcomer ascian Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I updated to 3.0u and I went ahead and clicked update after seeing the warning when going to System Update again. Nothing happens. It checks connection, says downloading update and then no updates found for your system you already have the lastest system software just like the PAL Mario Strikers did when you already had the 2.2 update and it checked for one.

    "backups" work (and while i'm at it, they aren't backups people, they're pirated, burnt games, get over yourselves. I also went to forecast, wii shop, etc and everything is fine. Played Big Brain and Guilty Gear.

    Believe it or not, I don't care.
     
  20. blindr

    Member blindr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    so ppl with modchips are safe with this update?
     

Share This Page